Skip to Main Content

Information for Faculty

This guide provides information on services that the library provides specifically for LLU faculty members.

Available Instruction Sessions

The library offers a variety of instruction sessions designed to support faculty and students in developing research and information literacy skills. These sessions cover topics such as effective search strategies, database navigation, citation management, and evidence-based research techniques. Faculty can request customized instruction tailored to their course needs, helping students engage more effectively with library resources and research tools.

Library Orientation

A general library orientation introduces students to the various resources the library offers. Beyond describing the traditional base for study on campus, the orientation demonstrates navigation of the library website, how to locate different types of needed information, and how to obtain an item which does not appear to be available in the local library.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Orientation Goals: 

Students will be able to:

  • describe remote and physical resources and access those resources
  • determine which library services to use to best meet their information needs
  • identify who may help them with literature searches
  • give examples of library services available to them
  • locate a book and check it out
  • locate an article and access the full text

Contact your liaison librarian to schedule an orientation session for your class.

Finding Resources

Search instruction sessions are highly adaptable to different programs, classes, types of learners, learning outcomes, and assignments. Session focus on subject specific-library resources. Instruction can be tailored to cover the following topics and more:

  • access to databases
  • Boolean searching
  • resource choice and searching in specific databases
  • search strategies
  • online searching
  • keyword vs. subject searching
  • point of care tools
  • testing instruments
  • grant sources
  • searching for dissertations
  • evaluating websites
  • Encore
  • ebook databases

Keyboard

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Search Instruction Goals: 

Students will be able to:

  • access resources from off campus
  • identify and choose an appropriate database for their research needs
  • formulate and perform keyword and subject search strategies

Contact your liaison librarian to schedule a library resources session for your class.

Using EndNote

EndNote is a software program that enables you to move seamlessly through your research process with flexible tools for searching, organizing and sharing your research, creating your bibliography, and writing your paper. An EndNote instruction session will provide you with the knowledge and some tricks of the trade to use the software most efficiently.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

EndNote Instruction Goals: 

Students will be able to:

  • create an EndNote library
  • import bibliographic references from external databases and create references manually
  • organize library using groups to categorize references by project, subject, or chosen parameters
  • store and annotate PDFs
  • automate the insertion and formatting of citations and bibliographies in Microsoft Word
  • sync EndNote references and groups across multiple computers, share references with others, and access references from almost anywhere with any internet browser by using EndNote Online.

Contact your liaison librarian to schedule a Endnote session for your class. More information can also be found in our EndNote Guide.