LibGuides: School of Public Health Guide: Databases

Primary Public Health Databases

Agricola This link opens in a new window
Agriculture, biology, ecology, environment, and water.
Description:
- Contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library
- Coverage dates back to 1970 and includes more than 4.1 million citations
- Comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture
Agricola allows you to:
- directly export search results to EndNote
- save searches in a personalized folder
- create email alerts for a specific topic
Producer
National Agricultural Library, Ebsco
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) provides indexing for over 2,737 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health.
Description:
- Provides full text for more than 750 journals
- Definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature
CINAHL Plus allows you to:
- directly export search results to EndNote
- save searches in a personalized folder
- create email alerts for a specific topic
Producer
Ebsco
Global Health This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of public health at the international and community level; also includes Nutrition Abstracts.
Description:
- Public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene
- Contains more than 1.2 million records dating back to 1973
Global Health allows you to:
- directly export search results to EndNote
- save searches in a personalized folder
- create email alerts for a specific topic
Producer
Ebsco
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Human impact on the environment.
Description:
- Collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling
- Abstracts for more than 384,000 records
- Full text for more than 4,700 records
GreenFile allows you to:
- directly export search results to EndNote
- save searches in a personalized folder
- create email alerts for a specific topic
Producer
Ebsco
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Consumer health literature.
Description:
- Information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health
- Provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines
- Coverage from 1985-present
Health Source: Consumer Edition allows you to:
- directly export search results to EndNote
- save searches in a personalized folder
- create email alerts for a specific topic
Producer
Ebsco
Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Nursing and allied health literature.
Description:
- Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines
- Features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names
- Coverage from 1975-present
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition allows you to:
- directly export search results to EndNote
- save searches in a personalized folder
- create email alerts for a specific topic
Producer
Ebsco
HIV/AIDS Surveillance Data Base This link opens in a new window
HIV prevalence and incidence data resources.
Description:
- An international compilation of HIV prevalence and incidence data resources from various sources for countries in Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, and Oceania
- Provides users with information on HIV/AIDS and is helpful as both a reference tool and a resource for policy, research, and evaluation
- The HIV/AIDS Surveillance Data Base contains studies appearing in the medical and scientific literature, presented at international conferences, reports, and appearing in the press
- Any use of data contained in the Data Base can be referenced from the original source citation
Producer
U.S. Census Bureau
Nutrition Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Now included in the database Global Health.
Description:
- Public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene
- Contains more than 1.2 million records dating back to 1973
Global Health allows you to:
- directly export search results to EndNote
- save searches in a personalized folder
- create email alerts for a specific topic
Producer
Ebsco
Public Health and Epidemiology (Oxford Scholarship Online book collection) This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 100 electronic books focusing on various aspects of Public Health and Epidemiology.
PubMed@LLU This link opens in a new window
Access to MEDLINE for LLUH users. Also includes the subject areas of nursing, dentistry, bioethics, complementary medicine and history of medicine.
Description:
- Contains references and abstracts from over 4,600 biomedical and health science journals from 1966 to the present
- Link directly to LLU-licensed journals or find print: PubMed Find Article Button
- Click to access PubMed tutorials
Producer:
National Library of Medicine
SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers all subdisciplines of sociology.
Description:
- Features more than 1,986,000 records with subject headings from a 19,600 term sociological thesaurus
- Contains full text for 708 journals dating back to 1908
- Includes full text for more than 780 books and monographs, and full text for 9,333 conference papers
SocIndex with Full Text allows you to:
- directly export search results to EndNote
- save searches in a personalized folder
- create email alerts for a specific topic
Producer
Ebsco

Pub Med

PubMed Includes 14 million citations for biomedical articles dating back to the 1950s.
Use the PubMed@LLU link on the Library home page to access PubMed. To see if LLU has a specific article, go to the “abstract” display and click on the link to our Journal Portal to see if the article is available from LLU:

The Ebscohost databases

Academic Search Premier: A multidisciplinary database for social sciences, humanities, education, general science and multi-cultural journals. Provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals
Global Health: Covers all aspects of public health at the international and community level; also includes Nutrition Abstracts
Consider EBSCOhost specialty databases for a specific angle to a topic:

HAPI : Health and Psychosocial Instruments: Provides records for finding questionnaires, checklists, interview forms, scenarios/vignettes, index measures, projective techniques, rating scales, and tests
PsycInfo, PsycEXTRA, , PsycArticles, PsycBooks (psychological aspects, counseling topics)
Agricola, GreenFILE, or GeoRef (for public health topics relating to food, agriculture, ecology, environment)
Ageline : Social gerontology and aging-related articles, books, and reports
ATLA Religion Database (for religious or spiritual aspects to a topic)
CINAHL (CINAHL has a Nursing & Allied Health focus, but is also excellent for public health topics because it is strong in areas such as health promotion & education, community health topics, nutrition, etc. )
SocIndex (for sociological or social work-related aspects of public health)

Other Useful databases

Web of Science: Search Science Citation Index & Social Science Citation Index from 1956-Present; Cited Reference Searching to find articles that cite a previously published work

eHRAF: (Collection of Ethnography): Primary source materials on cultures of societies worldwide.

Population Index: Demography, population size and growth, projections and predictions

GoogleScholar: Set your Scholar Preferences to "Find FullText @ LLU&MC"