LibGuides: School of Public Health Guide: Books

Medical Dictionaries

Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary by VENES
Call Number: W 13 T113c 2017
ISBN: 9780803659049
Publication Date: 2017-01-31
Access eBookvia Stat!Ref (licensed for 1 concurrent user)
Access eBook via CINAHL Complete

Premium Resources available here feature a wealth of interactive, multimedia resources for nursing, allied health, and medical students and professionals. You can explore through Sight & Sound features over 1,200 images with short definitions and audio pronunciations that enhance the learning experience.
Taber's Audio provides pronunciations for almost 32,000 terms found in Taber's.
Bonus Appendices include valuable educational and clinical health care resources, tools, and reference materials.
The extensive vocabulary defined in Taber's has been updated to meet the ongoing needs of health care students, educators, and clinicians, as well as interested consumers. The medical editor, nursing editor, and the nursing and allied health consulting editors and consultants have researched and written new entries, revised existing entries, and deleted obsolete ones, reflecting the many changes in health care technology, clinical practice, and patient care. American, rather than British, spellings are preferred." -- from "Features and Their Use", Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary, 23rd ed.
Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions and Nursing by Stedman's Medical Dictionary Staff (Produced by)
Call Number: W 13 S8125 2012
ISBN: 9781608316922
Publication Date: 2011-04-21
"Contains medical terminology used in more than 30 of today's fastest growing health profession area--plus comprehensive entries important to the nursing field" -- from the back cover.
Melloni's Illustrated Medical Dictionary by Ida G. Dox; B. John Melloni; June L. Melloni (Editor); Gilbert M. Eisner
Call Number: W 13 M49 2002
ISBN: 9781850700944
Publication Date: 2001-10-25
"Few illustrated medical dictionaries achieve the stature of this book. It is not simply a medical dictionary but a trove of more than 3,000 remarkable illustrations. Nearly all are the extraordinary line drawings that have become the hallmark of the Melloni dictionariesThis book will be a valuable resource for students in the health sciences, and for undergraduates, readers in public libraries, and high school students." - L.M. McMain, Sam Houston State University, Huntsville, Texas, USA in CHOICE, July 2002 "This is a one-of-a-kind dictionary. The unique quality of the dictionary is the inclusion of nice illustrations. I love this dictionary!" - LouAnn Schraffenberger, RHIA, CCS, SSC-P, University of Illinois, Chicago School of Biomed and Health Info Management, for Doody's Notes. Amazon.com

eBook Collections

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
McGraw-Hill online e-resource of over 60 medical titles including Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine.
Description:
AccessMedicine® from McGraw-Hill is an innovative online resource that provides students, residents, clinicians, researchers, and all health professionals with access to more than 60 medical titles from the best minds in medicine, updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to view from and download content to a mobile device.

Updated frequently and expanded continuously by world-renowned physicians, AccessMedicine provides fast, direct access to the information necessary for completing evaluations, diagnoses, and case management decisions, as well as for pursuing research, medical education, or self-assessment and board review.

Clinical References and Medical Education Resources
The Clinical Library comprises respected and revered medical titles such as:
Producer
McGraw-Hill
Books@Ovid This link opens in a new window
Browse electronic books available on the OVID platform and purchased by the LLU University Libraries
Description:
Over 140 eBooks have been purchased by the LLU University Libraries and made available via Books@OVID. More information from the publisher's website regarding Books@OVID:
- Get anytime, anywhere online access to your essential textbooks.
- Link seamlessly between chapters, topics and referenced websites, browse the table of contents.
- Multi-file searching-search subscribed books with Ovid databases and journals
- Links from book bibliographies-a single click from within Books@Ovid takes you to full text journals, bibliographic records, and external resources
- Natural language queries provide easier, more precise searches
- Single, expandable table of contents
- Browsable by subject as well as title
- View results ranked by relevance, not by book title
- Book topic links within the text can be created with Ovid Jumpstarts, for web-based syllabi and other online communication
- Fresh, intuitive interface
Producer
OVID
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Murrieta users, please use this link to ClinicalKey.
Clinical search resource expanding MDConsult by providing access to full-text articles from over 500 journals, 1,000 medical books, 2,500 procedural videos, clinical trials, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts, images, and point-of-care content from First Consult and Vitals.
Description:
ClinicalKey includes the MDConsult database but also adds hundreds of additional eBooks, eJournals, guidelines, videos, images, First Consult, Procedure Consult, and more into one platform with expanded content:
- Books – over 1,025 of Elsevier’s medical and surgical reference books
- Journals – over 500 of Elsevier’s medical and surgical journals
- Procedures Consult – all Procedures Consult content and associated procedural videos in various specialties
- First Consult – over 800 Point-of-Care clinical monographs
- Drug Monographs – over 2,800 clinical pharmacology drug monographs from Gold Standard
- Patient Education – over 15,000 patient education handouts
- Clinical Trials – all clinical trials from the ClinicalTrials.gov database
- Practice Guidelines – over 4,000 practice guidelines
- MEDLINE – fully indexed MEDLIINE abstracts
- Multimedia – over 13,000 medical and surgical videos and over 5 million images
- Vitals (Beta): over 500 surgical monographs
Murrieta users, please use this link to ClinicalKey.
Producer:
Elsevier, Inc.
PsycBOOKS This link opens in a new window
Online psychology books from the American Psychological Association.
Description:
- More than 24,000 chapters in PDF from over 1,500 books published by APA and other distinguished publishers
- Also includes over 800 classic books of landmark historical impact in psychology dating from 1806
- More than 1,500 authored entries from APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology
PsycBOOKS allows you to:
- directly export search results to EndNote
- save searches in a personalized folder
- create email alerts for a specific topic
Producer
American Psychological Association, Ebsco
Public Health and Epidemiology (Oxford Scholarship Online book collection) This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 100 electronic books focusing on various aspects of Public Health and Epidemiology.
R2 Library This link opens in a new window
R2 by Rittenhouse Book Distributors offers online content from key health sciences publishers in the areas of medicine, nursing, and allied health.
Description:
- Offers fully integrated and searchable medical, nursing, and allied health source book content from key health science publishers, on a web-based platform
- Content is available from publishers such as Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, The McGraw-Hill Companies, Delmar Cengage Learning, The American Academy of Pediatrics, and many more
- Customized saved searches, images, references, and bookmarks, A-Z Drug Index, and an A-Z Topic Index
- Content can be browsed by category, discipline, or title, and users can also perform searches across the entire platform, finding information on a topic in just two clicks
Producer
Rittenhouse Book Distributors
Stat!Ref (tds health) This link opens in a new window
Online textbooks, drug references, medical dictionaries, and medical reference sources.
Description:
- Quickly find answers about diagnosis and treatments
- Quickly find answers about drug interactions and use
- STAT!Ref is a clinical information resource that provides full text access to key medical reference sources and textbooks
  - ACP Pier
  - Nursing, Dentistry, Pharmacology, and Medical Specialty titles
  - Specialist textbooks
  - ACP Medicine (formerly Scientific American Medicine)
  - Drug references
  - Medical dictionaries
  - MedCalc 3000 (calculation tools and decision trees
Producer
Stat!Ref

International Encyclopedia of Public Health by Stella R. Quah (Editor-In-Chief); Kristian Heggenhougen (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780123739605
Publication Date: 2008-09-08

School of Public Health Guide

Library Hours

Prevention Diaries

Handbook of Community-Based Participatory Research

Ethnicity, Race, and Health in Multicultural Societies

Evidence-based Public Health

Advances in Microbiology, Infectious Diseases and Public Health

Public Health: An Action Guide to Improving Health

Understanding Global Health, 2E

Children, Health and Well-Being: Policy Debates and Lived Experiences

Modern Environments and Human Health: Revisiting the Second Epidemiological Transition

Preventing Childhood Obesity: Evidence Policy and Practice

Making Data Talk: Communicating Public Health Data to the Public, Policy Makers, and the Press

The Healthcare Professional Workforce: Understanding Human Capital in a Changing Industry

Medical Dictionaries

eBook Collections