LibGuides: School of Pharmacy Program Guide: Databases

Using the Databases Portal

Lexicomp

Lexicomp
THIS DATABASE IS ONLY AVAILABLE TO PHARMACY STUDENTS AND FACULTY. THE FACULTY AND THE 4TH YEAR STUDENTS HAVE IT AVAILABLE ON THEIR PHONES & MOBILE DEVICES. THE REST OF THE STUDENTS CAN USE IT IN THE SCHOOL OF PHARMACY LABS.

Databases

AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
AccessPharmacy provides unique benefits that deliver indispensable support in pharmacy education and actual practice – through these exclusive interactive features: Leading pharmacy textbooks, Quick Reference, Extensive multimedia library, Drug therapy cases, Extensive self-assessment, Topics in Evidence-Based Pharmacy Practice and Integrated drug database.
Description:

AccessPharmacy from McGraw-Hill Medical is designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education and practice today. Updated regularly and optimized for viewing on any device, this comprehensive, content-rich online pharmacy resource allows users to explore leading pharmacy references, search curriculum topics, research drugs and supplements.

Guided by a preeminent Advisory Board that includes two top academic experts, Terry L. Schwinghammer, PharmD, and Joseph T. DiPiro, PharmD, AccessPharmacy is the pharmacy field’s most trusted website.

AccessPharmacy gives pharmacy students instant access to videos, games, Q&A, and leading pharmacy textbooks that will establish an important foundation for learning, and allows practicing pharmacists to get information instantly about drugs, herbs and supplements, and consult features and editorials concerning the vast array of current pharmacy publications.
Producer
McGraw-Hill
Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase is a highly versatile, multipurpose and up-to-date biomedical database. It covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth.
Description:
With Embase, you can search and access:
- Journal coverage from 1947 to the present
- Over 32 million records, including MEDLINE titles
- Over 8,500 journals from over 95 countries, including MEDLINE titles
- Over 2,900 indexed journals unique to Embase
- Over 1.5 million records added yearly, with an average of over 6,000 each day
- Over 2.3 million conference abstracts indexed from more than 7,000 conferences dating from 2009
- Full-text indexing of drug, disease and medical device data
Producer:
Elsevier
Facts and Comparisons eAnswers This link opens in a new window
School of Pharmacy students and faculty only Full text access to Drug Facts and Comparisons, Drug Interaction Facts, and Review of Natural Products.
Description:
- Access to a complete library of drug information references:
  - Drug Facts and Comparisons
  - Drug Interaction Facts
  - ◦Drug Interaction Facts: Herbal Supplements and Food
  - MedFacts patient information in English and Spanish
  - The Review of Natural Products
  - A to Z Drug Facts
  - Nonprescription Drug Therapy
  - Off-Label Drug Facts
  - Drug Identifier
  - Clinical Calculators
  - Black Box Warnings
  - Pregnancy and Lactation Warnings
  - Bioequivalency Codes
  - Investigational Drugs
  - Manufacturer Index
  - Orphan Drugs
  - Medication Guides
  - FDA Medwatch Links
  - Patient Assistance Programs
  - Cancer Chemotherapy Manual
  - 5-Minute Clinical ConsultTrissel's IV-Chek
  - ToxFacts Toxicology Treatment Guidelines
  - Healthwise Patient Instructions
  - The Formulary Monograph Service
Producer
Facts and Comparisons
LWW Health Library - Premium Pharmacy This link opens in a new window
Portal to Lippincott Williams & Wilkins pharmaceutical and foundational clinical science content (books and multimedia) for pharmacy educators and students.
Description:
Lippincott’s portal to pharmacy education has 30 full text book plus multimedia into key texts.
Producer
Lippincott Williams & Wilkins
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Full-text drug information databases; includes Martindale.
Description:
- Micromedex is the source of comprehensive and reputable drug information
- CareNotes provides your patients with complete, easy-to-understand information about all aspects of their care, medications, and health, in English or Spanish
- Micromedex is comprised of the following resources:
  - Comprehensive drug details - DRUGDEX®
  - Check for drug interactions - DRUG-REAX®
  - Identify loose tablets & capsules - IDENTIDEX®
  - Verify IV compatibility - IV INDEX®
  - International drugs - Index Nominum
  - Drug information from Royal Pharmaceutical Society - Martindale
  - Facts on FDA-approved drugs - PDR®
  - Identify and manage drug overdoses & toxicological exposures - POISINDEX®
  - Evaluate human reproductive risks of drugs - REPRORISK®
  - Labeled and off-label drug uses - USP DI®
  - Quick guidance for emergency care - DISEASEDEX Emergency Medicine
  - Look up best treatment practices - DISEASEDEX General Medicine
  - Evaluate hazard exposures - TOMES®
  - Visually pinpoint diseases - VisualDx®
  - Monitor drug and therapeutic levels for labs - Lab Advisor
  - Herbals, supplements, & alternative therapies - AltMedDex
  - Blend conventional and alternative medicines - AltMedDex Protocols
  - International guidance on herbals - Herbal Medicines from the Royal Pharmaceutical Press
Producer
Truven Health Analytics Inc.
PubMed@LLU This link opens in a new window
Access to MEDLINE for LLUH users. Also includes the subject areas of nursing, dentistry, bioethics, complementary medicine and history of medicine.
Description:
- Contains references and abstracts from over 4,600 biomedical and health science journals from 1966 to the present
- Link directly to LLU-licensed journals or find print: PubMed Find Article Button
- Click to access PubMed tutorials
Producer:
National Library of Medicine

School of Pharmacy Program Guide

Database basics

Research a Topic in a Database

Using the Databases Portal

Lexicomp

Databases