Skip to main content

Information for Faculty: Journals

library services, copyright, searching library resources

If you have a specifc citation:

Select Find Journals to get to the journal portal.  Search by exact title or words in the title.

Establish if we have the journal title in the correct year

Is the article available in print (in the library!) OR is it available full-text online?  If available online, just click the link to go to the article.  If available in the library in print only, come to the library to photocopy it.

If you want to find articles (i.e., research a topic), search a database:

  1. Evaluate which database is appropriate for your search.  See the box below, for more help.

  2. Think about what you hope to find; ask yourself questions about your topic and make a list of keywords and synonyms from these questions.

  3. Construct a search strategy using these keywords.

  4. Conduct the search and look carefully at your results and then repeat search with a revised search strategy

  5. Assess whether LLU Libraries have the full-text of the article(s) you want.  See box on this page for help finding full-text.

Finding full text from a database search

Assess whether LLU Libraries have the full text of the article(s) you want.

  • Each database should have the purple LLU&MC Find Article button:   

  • Clicking the purple button opens a new window/tab and checks the citation against what the library has access to.

    • When access to the full text of an article is available, you will see instructions underneath your citation to click Article, like the example below.  Often, the library has access to an article in multiple ways.  In the example below, notice under the Resource column on the right, that there is access from three different resources.

      1. Check against the citation that the library has access to the year you are looking for (under the Coverage Range column in the center).
      2. If the only result underneath the Resource column on the right says, "Del E. Webb Library," then it is available in the library in print only. In that case, come to the library to photocopy it, or request the copy/pull (see service information at the very top of the pull link) service for a small fee through Interlibrary Loan.
      3. If the result(s) under the Resource column on the right says anything other than Del E. Webb Library, then follow the instruction to click the Article link if it is available.  You will either get the full text, or you merely need to look for and click on the pdf icon to obtain the full text.
      4. If there is no Article link, follow the instruction to click the Journal link.  You will be routed to a journal page.  Each provider page looks different.  However the goal is the same; use the citation information to find your exact article and then click on the pdf icon.  Look for a listing of years and look for your article first by year, then subsequently volume, issue, and page or title. 
      5. Click on the pdf icon.
      6. If a list of years is not apparent on the initial page, look for links to archives, or past issues and then look for your article first by year, then subsequently volume, issue, and page or titlle.
      7. Click on the pdf icon. 

  • If the library does NOT have access to the article, you will see under the citation that the article does not appear to be available.

Browse eJournals with BrowZine

Get the app, or use the web version.