Vegetarianism and Health: Books at LLU

Vegetarians can enjoy all the benefits of slow cookers. Slow cookers have been rediscovered by a whole new generation of busy families, students and professionals. Those on the go love being able to throw wholesome ingredients into a cooker, close the lid and come home to a hot, satisfying meal at the end of the day. However, most slow cooker cookbooks feature recipes using meat, poultry and fish, and include only a few vegetarian recipes. 125 Best Vegetarian Slow Cooker Recipes features outstanding vegetarian recipes including: Cannelloni with Tomato Eggplant Sauce Three-Bean Chili with Bulgur Louisiana Ratatouille Rice and Bean Casserole with Cheese and Chilies Creamy Leek, Potato and Mushroom Stew with Blue Cheese Succulent Succotash Potato-and-Cauliflower Dal with Spicy Shallots Cider Baked Beans Meatless Moussaka Mushroom and Artichoke Lasagna. Also provided is useful information about the basics of slow cooking and tips like using whole leaf herbs and spices. Common pantry ingredients are particularly helpful in turning out great-tasting and innovative slow cooker food.

Fresh Food Fast is a collection of mouthwatering seasonal vegetarian menus that can be created in under an hour, from James Beard and IACP Award-winning chef Peter Berley, a culinary instructor, family man, and chef with a passion for delicious meals that use seasonal produce and are easy to prepare. In Fresh Food Fast, a Food & Wine Best of the Best Cookbook, Berley provides 48 sophisticated home-cooked vegetarian meals--12 for each season. You'll find recipes for appetizers, mains, side dishes, and desserts, as well as shopping lists, lavish color photos, and game plans that take you step-by-step through each menu. "Fast" food does not have to be prepackaged and bland. Peter Berley teaches us how we can live without compromise, enjoying fresh, wholesome meals any day of the week.

The flavorful vegetarian cuisine of Africa, Asia, the Middle East, Latin America and the Caribbean is highlighted in more than 130 quick and easy recipes and nearly as many evocative color photographs of the diverse food and the people who produce and eat it. Here are fresh, simple, nutritional ideas for any time of the day or year. Enticing recipes for salads, snacks, soups, main dishes, sides, desserts and drinks are exotic but uncomplicated - often taking less than ten minutes to prepare from start to finish and using fewer than five easy-to-find ingredients. Recipes include: Avocado Salad with Ginger from the Ivory Coast Carrot; Tomato and Orange Soup from Central America; Bean, Cheese and Tomato Pancakes from Argentina; Glazed Onions with Raisins from Morocco; Savory Rice with Nuts and Dried Fruit from India; Noodles with Ginger from Thailand; Peanut Cookies from Guadeloupe; Sweet Couscous from North Africa.; and many more. Tantalizing, healthful, and low-fat, Global Vegetarian Cooking is a bountiful collection of easily prepared, international dishes to inspire any cook - from beginner to accomplished chef. More than a cookbook, it will stimulate our taste buds as we learn about people and culture through food. A helpful vegetarian nutrition guide, food glossary, vegetarian meal planning tips, pantry list, and regional and ingredients indexes further enhance this easy and inviting collection. Troth Wells is the acclaimed author of several cookbooks, including The Spices of Life and One World Vegetarian Cookbook.

This book is for both vegetarians and meat eaters, people who decide to eat a few meatless meals each week, those who have decided to eat vegetarian but need help, parents whose children decide to eat vegetarian, and entertainers who are expecting vegetarian guests. Revised Edition with over 100 NEW RECIPES.

Citing health concerns as the number one reason why people adopt a vegetarian diet, this collection makes important scientific connections between good health and vegetarianism. The Complete Vegetarian examines the diet's impact on chronic diseases and serves as a nutritional guide and meal-planning resource. Leading vegetarian nutritionists and medical doctors devote entire chapters to nutritional aspects that include fats, protein, and fiber; to diseases such as diabetes, cancer, heart disease, and high blood pressure; and to vegetarian meal planning, including specialized diets for children, pregnant women, and athletes. The contributors' cutting-edge research finds that it is not only an absence of meat that accounts for the health effects of a vegetarian diet; other contributing factors include less saturated fat and more fiber, antioxidants, and unsaturated fats than other diets. The Complete Vegetarian promises to be an essential resource for health professionals and the growing number of people who have adopted or are thinking about adopting a vegetarian lifestyle. Contributors include John J. B. Anderson, Dina Aronson, Peggy Carlson, James Craner, Brenda Davis, Simon K. Emms, Jeanene Fogli, Suzanne Havala Hobbs, Michael A. Klaper, Erin L. Kraker, Valerie Kurtzhalts, D. Enette Larson-Meyer, Reed Mangels, Carol M. Meerschaert, Virginia Messina, Mary Helen Niemeyer, Carl V. Phillips, Sudha Raj, and Cheryl Sullivan.

The Dietitians Guide to Vegetarian Diets, Second Edition highlights the trends and research on vegetarian diets and provides practical ideas in the form of counseling points to help dietitians and other health care providers convey information to their clients. The text presents vital information on vegetarian nutritional needs, healthier and more satisfying diets, and guidelines for treating clients of all ages and clients with special considerations, such as pregnant women, athletes, and diabetics.

Approximately 12 million U.S. citizens consider themselves vegetarians, and 13.5 percent of all U.S. households claim to have at least one family member practicing some form of vegetarianism. In the past 30 years, scientific endeavors in the area of vegetarian nutrition have progressively shifted from investigating dietary concerns held by nutritionists and other health professionals to creative solutions for various medical conditions and preventive approaches to chronic diseases. Although professional interest in vegetarian nutrition has now reached unprecedented levels, scientific knowledge regarding vegetarian diets and their positive effects on human health is far from complete. Vegetarian Nutrition provides data to explain the preventive role of vegetarian diets for many chronic diseases such as heart disease and some types of cancers while including recommendations and guidelines for vegetarians and those prescribed vegetarian diets. Based on scientific sources and research, and presenting information in both tabular and prose formats, the book details various diet regimens, health concerns, and energy expenditure. This handbook is written for academic and clinical nutritionists, dieticians, and graduate students in nutrition ad public health, with each chapter rendering a scholarly review of the particular topic. While considering both health benefits and nutritional concerns Vegetarian Nutrition addresses such topics as chronic disease prevention; adequacy of the diet for children, in pregnancy, lactation, and for the aging population; recommendations for a healthy vegetarian diet; and global perspectives.

Basic Consumer Health Information about Vegetarian Diets, Lifestyle, and Philosophy, Including Definitions of Vegetarianism and Veganism, Tips about Adopting Vegetarianism, Creating a Vegetarian Pantry, and Meeting Nutritional Needs of Vegetarians, with Facts Regarding Vegetarianism's Effect on Pregnant and Lactating Women, Children, Athletes, and Senior Citizens Along with a Glossary of Commonly Used Vegetarian Terms and Resources for Additional Help and Information.