School of Medicine Guide

Go to the databases when you have a topic and not a specific citation.  See the example at the bottom of this box.

Search a database if you are looking for articles on a particular topic. 

Browse the database list by:

• Alphabetical list A-Z

OR

•  Subject (for example: Medicine)

Arrange the list by subject instead of title.  Use the dropdown box in the center to choose your desired subject.

Topic vs. Specific citation

If you have a topic such as

 patient safety and medication error 

     choose a database and perform your search.

If you have a specific citation such as

Capasso V., Johnson M. (2012).  Improving the medicine administration process by reducing interruptions. Journal of Healthcare Management, 56(6), 384-90. 

      then you are probably looking to see if the library has access to the full text of the article.  See the box at the bottom right of this page.

Does the library have the full-text of the article(s) you want?

• Under each citation result is the purple LLU&MC Find Article button:   

• Click the purple button to check that the library has it.

• • Full-text is available, when you will see instructions underneath your citation to click Article--see example below.  Often, the library has access in multiple ways.  In the Resource column of the example below, you see access from three different resources.

    1. Check that the library has the year you are looking for (center, Coverage Range column).
    2. If the only result in the Resource column says, "Del E. Webb Library," it is available in the library in print only. You can visit the library, or request the copy/pull (see service information at the very top of the pull link) service for a small fee through Interlibrary Loan.
    3. If the result(s) under the Resource column says anything other than Del E. Webb Library, then follow the instruction to click the Article link if it is available.  Look for full-text in html, or pdf.
    4. No Article link?  Follow the instruction to click the Journal link.  From the journal page, use the citation information to find your exact article to get full-text in html, or pdf.  Hints:  look for a list of years, or lnks to archives, or past issues and then look for your article first by year, then subsequently volume, issue, and page or title.
• EXAMPLE

• If the library does NOT have access to the article, you will see under the citation that the article does not appear to be available.