LibGuides: School of Dentistry: Drug Information & Clinical Guidelines

Finding Drug Information

AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
AccessPharmacy provides unique benefits that deliver indispensable support in pharmacy education and actual practice – through these exclusive interactive features: Leading pharmacy textbooks, Quick Reference, Extensive multimedia library, Drug therapy cases, Extensive self-assessment, Topics in Evidence-Based Pharmacy Practice and Integrated drug database.
Description:

AccessPharmacy from McGraw-Hill Medical is designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education and practice today. Updated regularly and optimized for viewing on any device, this comprehensive, content-rich online pharmacy resource allows users to explore leading pharmacy references, search curriculum topics, research drugs and supplements.

Guided by a preeminent Advisory Board that includes two top academic experts, Terry L. Schwinghammer, PharmD, and Joseph T. DiPiro, PharmD, AccessPharmacy is the pharmacy field’s most trusted website.

AccessPharmacy gives pharmacy students instant access to videos, games, Q&A, and leading pharmacy textbooks that will establish an important foundation for learning, and allows practicing pharmacists to get information instantly about drugs, herbs and supplements, and consult features and editorials concerning the vast array of current pharmacy publications.
Producer
McGraw-Hill

DailyMed
The DailyMed database contains 150073 labeling submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) by companies. DailyMed does not contain a complete listing of labeling for FDA-regulated products (e.g., labeling that is not submitted to the FDA).

Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase is a highly versatile, multipurpose and up-to-date biomedical database. It covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth.
Description:
With Embase, you can search and access:
- Journal coverage from 1947 to the present
- Over 32 million records, including MEDLINE titles
- Over 8,500 journals from over 95 countries, including MEDLINE titles
- Over 2,900 indexed journals unique to Embase
- Over 1.5 million records added yearly, with an average of over 6,000 each day
- Over 2.3 million conference abstracts indexed from more than 7,000 conferences dating from 2009
- Full-text indexing of drug, disease and medical device data
Producer:
Elsevier
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Full-text drug information databases; includes Martindale.
Description:
- Micromedex is the source of comprehensive and reputable drug information
- CareNotes provides your patients with complete, easy-to-understand information about all aspects of their care, medications, and health, in English or Spanish
- Micromedex is comprised of the following resources:
  - Comprehensive drug details - DRUGDEX®
  - Check for drug interactions - DRUG-REAX®
  - Identify loose tablets & capsules - IDENTIDEX®
  - Verify IV compatibility - IV INDEX®
  - International drugs - Index Nominum
  - Drug information from Royal Pharmaceutical Society - Martindale
  - Facts on FDA-approved drugs - PDR®
  - Identify and manage drug overdoses & toxicological exposures - POISINDEX®
  - Evaluate human reproductive risks of drugs - REPRORISK®
  - Labeled and off-label drug uses - USP DI®
  - Quick guidance for emergency care - DISEASEDEX Emergency Medicine
  - Look up best treatment practices - DISEASEDEX General Medicine
  - Evaluate hazard exposures - TOMES®
  - Visually pinpoint diseases - VisualDx®
  - Monitor drug and therapeutic levels for labs - Lab Advisor
  - Herbals, supplements, & alternative therapies - AltMedDex
  - Blend conventional and alternative medicines - AltMedDex Protocols
  - International guidance on herbals - Herbal Medicines from the Royal Pharmaceutical Press
Producer
Truven Health Analytics Inc.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
Formerly Natural Standard and Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database. Evidence-based information for complementary/alternative medicine
Description:
- Complementary and alternative therapies
- For each therapy covered, a research team systematically gathers scientific data and expert opinions
- Validated rating scales are used to evaluate the quality of available evidence
- Information is incorporated into comprehensive monographs that are designed to facilitate clinical decision making
- All monographs undergo blinded editorial and peer review prior to inclusion
- Databases include:
  - Food, Herbs & Supplements
  - Health & Wellness
  - Comparative Effectivenes
  - Medical Conditions
  - Genomics & Proteomics
  - Environmental Resources
  - Brand Names
  - Interactive Tools
Producer
Natural Standard
PubChem This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive Toxicology Information
Description:
PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.
RxNav This link opens in a new window
RxNav is a browser for several drug information sources, including RxNorm, RxTerms and MED-RT. RxNav finds drugs in RxNorm from the names and codes in its constituent vocabularies.
Description
Additional information on the RxNav and the datasets it uses can be found on the Overview page.
Producer
National Library of Medicine
Stat!Ref (tds health) This link opens in a new window
Online textbooks, drug references, medical dictionaries, and medical reference sources.
Description:
- Quickly find answers about diagnosis and treatments
- Quickly find answers about drug interactions and use
- STAT!Ref is a clinical information resource that provides full text access to key medical reference sources and textbooks
  - ACP Pier
  - Nursing, Dentistry, Pharmacology, and Medical Specialty titles
  - Specialist textbooks
  - ACP Medicine (formerly Scientific American Medicine)
  - Drug references
  - Medical dictionaries
  - MedCalc 3000 (calculation tools and decision trees
Producer
Stat!Ref