Resource Guide for Pharmacy Students and Faculty: Databases

Go to the databases when you have a topic and not a specific citation.  See the example at the bottom of this box.

Search a database if you are looking for articles on a particular topic. 

Browse the database list by:

• Alphabetical list A-Z

OR

•  Subject (for example: Medicine)

Arrange the list by subject instead of title.  Use the dropdown box in the center to choose your desired subject.

Topic vs. Specific citation

If you have a topic such as

 patient safety and medication error 

     choose a database and perform your search.

If you have a specific citation such as

Capasso V., Johnson M. (2012).  Improving the medicine administration process by reducing interruptions. Journal of Healthcare Management, 56(6), 384-90. 

      then you are probably looking to see if the library has access to the full text of the article.  See the box at the bottom right of this page.

The library provides over 100 databases.  The database page arranges them in alphabetical order.  You can rearrange the databases by clicking on the Subject dropdown below the alphabet navigation menu.  

Choose a subject from the dropdown box and click APPLY:  

• ACP SMART: ACP Smart Medicine provides access to 500 clinical diagnosis and treatment recommendations covering a wide variety of medical specialties
• AHFS DI Essentials:
  • Distills essential information from the larger AHFS Drug Information database. It is designed to offer health professionals easy access to knowledge that is critical at the point of care.

CLINICAL PHARMACOLOGY GO TO CLINICAL PHARMACOLOGY

Access up-to-date, concise and clinically-relevant drug information

• Look up information about an RX drug, OTC, herbal or nutritional product
• Find drugs by medical condition, adverse reaction, or classification
• Find drugs that meet multiple clinical criteria
• Screen multiple drug products for interactions or adverse reactions
• Identify unknown drugs; print monographs
• Print patient education handouts
• Access note: License is restricted to LLU students and faculty

FACTS AND COMPARISONS  GO TO FACTS AND COMPARISONS

Full text access to Drug Facts and Comparisons, Drug Interaction Facts, and Review of Natural Product. 

Facts & Comparisons® helps practitioners ensure the safety and accuracy of therapeutic decision making through quick and easy access to independently reviewed and researched drug information in a variety of formats.

INTERNATIONAL PHARMACEUTICAL ABSTRACTS  GO TO INTERNATIONAL PHARMACEUTICAL ABSTRACTS

• Covers the entire spectrum of drug therapy and pharmaceutical information including current health-related drug literature
• Biopharmaceutics and pharmacokinetics, new drug delivery systems, pharmacist liability, legal, political, and ethical issues
• Provides access to the abstracts of 750 pharmaceutical, medical, and health-related journals
• Coverage from 1970 to the present

PHARMACY LIBRARY (APhA) GO TO APhA PHARMACY LIBRARY

• Features APhA's authoritative textbooks, PharmacotherapyFirst, an interactive NAPLEX® review
• More than 250 Active Learning Exercises easily adaptable for a variety of educational settings
• Case studies, and information from a variety of news sources.

LWW HEALTH LIBRARY GO TO LWW HEALTH LIBRARY- PHARMACY

Lippincott’s portal to pharmacy education has 30 full text book plus multimedia into key texts.

MICROMEDEX GO TO MICROMEDEX

• Comprehensive drug details 
• Check for drug interactions 
• Identify loose tablets & capsules 
• Verify IV compatibility
• International drugs
• Drug information from Royal Pharmaceutical Society 
• Facts on FDA-approved drugs 
• Identify and manage drug overdoses & toxicologic exposures
• Evaluate human reproductive risks of drugs
• Labeled and off-label drug uses

NATURAL MEDICINES  GO TO NATURAL MEDICINES

Evidence-based information for complementary/alternative medicine.

Databases include:

• Food, Herbs & Supplements      
• Health & Wellness
• Comparative Effectiveness
• Medical Conditions
• Genomics & Proteomics
• Environmental Resources
• Brand Names
• Interactive Tools

R2 LIBRARY  GO TO R2 LIBRARY

• Offers fully integrated and searchable medical, nursing, and allied health source book content from key health science publishers, on a web-based platform
• Customized saved searches, images, references, and bookmarks, A-Z Drug Index, and an A-Z Topic Index

SCIENCEDIRECT JOURNALS   GO TO SCIENCEDIRECT JOURNALS

• ScienceDirect is the premier electronic information service for the interdisciplinary research needs of academic, corporate, and educational institutions, offering comprehensive coverage of literature across all fields of science
• Access Scientific Technical and Medical (STM) journal titles and full-text articles
• Covers 1995 to the present

STATREF  GO TO STATREF

• A clinical information resource that provides full text access to key medical reference sources and textbooks
• Quickly find answers about diagnosis and treatments,and drug interactions and use

TOXNET  GO TO TOXNET

TOXNET has three areas:

• Toxicology Data Search provides access to HSDB (Hazardous Substance Data Bank); CCRIS (Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System); GENE-TOX (Genetic Toxicology); IRIS (Integrated Risk Information System)
• Toxic Release Information (TRI) provides access to the EPA's TRI (Toxic Chemical Release Inventory).

• Toxicology Literature Search provides access to DART (Development and Reproductive Toxicology), EMIC (Environmental Mutagen Information Center), and TOXLINE

WEB OF SCIENCE  GO TO WEB OF SCIENCE

• Citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences
• Powerful tools include cited reference searching, Citation Maps, and the Analyze Tool
• Coverage for Science Citation Index: 1955-Present
• Coverage for Social Science Citation Index: 1956-Present