Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Articles Using PubMed@LLU: Searching PubMed

a how-to

New PubMed Features

The National Library of Medicine (NLM) is continuing to develop features in the new PubMed site, and this new version of PubMed will replace the legacy PubMed in late spring 2020. Several features have been recently added or updated in the new PubMed:

  • Summary display includes the full author list and other citation details
  • Send to: Citation manager is available
  • RIS format is replaced by PubMed format
  • Search details include individual term translations
  • Citations in the Clipboard have been added to History as search number #0

For detailed information go to the January NLM Technical Bulletin & March 2020 NLM Technical Bulletin

LLU Library Users: Make sure you always access PubMed through the University Libraries to take advantage of our links to the fulltext!

LLU Libraries; Contact & Hours

http://library.llu.edu

909.558.4550 (main desk)
909.558.4588 (reference desk)

Report a problem with a journal:
libjournals@llu.edu

Have a question or need assistance with a search?
Ask us!  http://libanswers.llu.edu/ask

Library Hours

Accessing and Searching PubMed

Need a quick reference for this section?

Download the Tips for Using NLM's PubMed or

PubMed: Subject Search How it Works?

Check out the online tutorial  A New PubMed: Highlights for Information Professionals.

About PubMed

PubMed is a database supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally.

The PubMed database contains more than 30 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature.Available to the public online since 1996, PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) , at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) , located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) .

Citations in PubMed primarily stem from the biomedicine and health fields, and related disciplines such as life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

PubMed facilitates searching across several NLM literature resources:

  • MEDLINE is the largest component of PubMed and consists primarily of citations from journals selected for MEDLINE; articles indexed with MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) and curated with funding, genetic, chemical and other metadata.
  • PubMed Central (PMC) articles make up the second largest component of PubMed. PMC is a full-text archive that includes articles from journals reviewed and selected by NLM for archiving (current and historical), as well as individual articles collected for archiving in compliance with funder policies.
  • Bookshelf is a full-text archive of books, reports, databases, and other documents related to biomedical, health, and life sciences.