LibGuides: Orthopaedic Surgery Resident Guide: Journals and Databases

Looking for one article?

Journal article citations usually look similar to this:

Authorname, A.B. (2008). "Title of article." Journal Name. Vol 25, issue 3, pages 47-58.

Search the Library Catalog for the Journal Name to see if the University Libraries subscribes to the journal.
You may see 2 records in the Catalog for your Journal Name.

One record has a link to the online version of the journal, and tells you which years we have online.
Another record tells you the library/location, and inventory (volumes and issues) that we have in print.

Search the Journal Portal for access to e-journals.

Find Journals by title or ISSN
Journal citation reports
Journal title abbreviations

Finding Journal Articles

Visit our Database Page for a complete list of available Databases.

ClinicalKey
Extensive medical content, including journals, books, and clinical overviews. [Murrieta users, please use this link to ClinicalKey.]
Description:
ClinicalKey includes the MDConsult database but also adds hundreds of additional eBooks, eJournals, guidelines, videos, images, First Consult, Procedure Consult, and more into one platform with expanded content:
- Books – over 1,025 of Elsevier’s medical and surgical reference books
- Journals – over 500 of Elsevier’s medical and surgical journals
- Procedures Consult – all Procedures Consult content and associated procedural videos in various specialties
- First Consult – over 800 Point-of-Care clinical monographs
- Drug Monographs – over 2,800 clinical pharmacology drug monographs from Gold Standard
- Patient Education – over 15,000 patient education handouts
- Clinical Trials – all clinical trials from the ClinicalTrials.gov database
- Practice Guidelines – over 4,000 practice guidelines
- MEDLINE – fully indexed MEDLIINE abstracts
- Multimedia – over 13,000 medical and surgical videos and over 5 million images
- Vitals (Beta): over 500 surgical monographs
Murrieta users, please use this link to ClinicalKey.
Producer:
Elsevier, Inc.
PubMed@LLU
Premier database for biomedical literature, customized for local access.
Description:
- Contains references and abstracts from over 4,600 biomedical and health science journals from 1966 to the present
- Link directly to LLU-licensed journals or find print: PubMed Find Article Button
- Click to access PubMed tutorials
Producer:
National Library of Medicine
Stat!Ref (tds health)
A cross-searchable collection of full-text medical and nursing resources.
Description:
- Quickly find answers about diagnosis and treatments
- Quickly find answers about drug interactions and use
- STAT!Ref is a clinical information resource that provides full text access to key medical reference sources and textbooks
  - ACP Pier
  - Nursing, Dentistry, Pharmacology, and Medical Specialty titles
  - Specialist textbooks
  - ACP Medicine (formerly Scientific American Medicine)
  - Drug references
  - Medical dictionaries
  - MedCalc 3000 (calculation tools and decision trees
Producer
Stat!Ref
ScienceDirect
Scientific and medical journals.
Description:
- ScienceDirect is the premier electronic information service for the interdisciplinary research needs of academic, corporate, and educational institutions, offering comprehensive coverage of literature across all fields of science
- Access full text of selected Scientific Technical and Medical (STM) books and journals
- Covers 1995 to the present
Producer
Elsevier
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary citation index covering over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities that allows you to track and analyze research impact.
Description:
- Citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences
- Powerful tools include cited reference searching, Citation Maps, and the Analyze Tool
- Coverage for Science Citation Index: 1955-Present
- Coverage for Social Science Citation Index: 1956-Present
Web of Science allows you to:
- create a personal account
- save and manage your references online with EndNote Web (freely available and fully integrated)
- save and run searches
- create alerts and RSS feeds
- choose your start page
Producer:
Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), Thompson

Connect from off campus

LLU students, faculty, and LLU/MC employees can easily connect to most electronic library resources from off-campus.

The Login screen (once you click on a database or the fulltext of a journal) gives you two choices:

LLUH Login:

LLU/MC employees will need to register for the library. Request a library account by filling out the online Patron Registration Form. If unable to complete the online form, fill out the old Patron Registration Form and email it to circadmins@llu.edu with a copy of your ID or fax to (909) 558-4188. For immediate processing, questions, or if you already have an account but it is not working, contact the Circulation Desk at (909) 558-4550.

Students/Faculty having username/password difficulties may contact the Circulation Desk at (909) 558-4550 or the HelpDesk at lluhelpdesk@llu.edu or (909) 558-1000, x48611.

The Libraries Login:

Enter:

Your first and last name
Your barcode (at the bottom of your ID card)
A PIN -- If you do not have a PIN, leave the PIN box blank when logging in. The system will walk you through creating a PIN. If you already have a PIN but cannot remember it, please contact the Circulation Desk at (909) 558-4550.