LibGuides: Orthopaedic Surgery Resident Guide: Orthopaedic Surgery Textbooks

eBook Collections

Books@Ovid
Browse electronic books available on the OVID platform and purchased by the LLU University Libraries.

Access restricted to CURRENT LLU&MC students/faculty/staff
Description:
Over 140 eBooks have been purchased by the LLU University Libraries and made available via Books@OVID. More information from the publisher's website regarding Books@OVID:
- Get anytime, anywhere online access to your essential textbooks.
- Link seamlessly between chapters, topics and referenced websites, browse the table of contents.
- Multi-file searching-search subscribed books with Ovid databases and journals
- Links from book bibliographies-a single click from within Books@Ovid takes you to full text journals, bibliographic records, and external resources
- Natural language queries provide easier, more precise searches
- Single, expandable table of contents
- Browsable by subject as well as title
- View results ranked by relevance, not by book title
- Book topic links within the text can be created with Ovid Jumpstarts, for web-based syllabi and other online communication
- Fresh, intuitive interface
Producer
OVID

Specific e-Book titles are searchable through the Library Catalog

Here are some e-book services that specialize in areas of medicine.

Newly-added books will appear in these services before they show up in the Library Catalog.

*Access restricted to CURRENT LLU&MC students/faculty/staff

ClinicalKey
Titles in this collection cover most medical specialties.

Access restricted to CURRENT LLU&MC students/faculty/staff
Description:
ClinicalKey includes the MDConsult database but also adds hundreds of additional eBooks, eJournals, guidelines, videos, images, First Consult, Procedure Consult, and more into one platform with expanded content:
- Books – over 1,025 of Elsevier’s medical and surgical reference books
- Journals – over 500 of Elsevier’s medical and surgical journals
- Procedures Consult – all Procedures Consult content and associated procedural videos in various specialties
- First Consult – over 800 Point-of-Care clinical monographs
- Drug Monographs – over 2,800 clinical pharmacology drug monographs from Gold Standard
- Patient Education – over 15,000 patient education handouts
- Clinical Trials – all clinical trials from the ClinicalTrials.gov database
- Practice Guidelines – over 4,000 practice guidelines
- MEDLINE – fully indexed MEDLIINE abstracts
- Multimedia – over 13,000 medical and surgical videos and over 5 million images
- Vitals (Beta): over 500 surgical monographs
Murrieta users, please use this link to ClinicalKey.
Producer:
Elsevier, Inc.

NCBI Bookshelf
NCBI's collection of biomedical books and journals that can be searched directly by typing a concept into a search box and selecting one of more than 28 categories such as MeSH, Proteins, or GENSAT.

R2 Library
Access restricted to CURRENT LLU&MC students/faculty/staff

R2 by Rittenhouse Book Distributors offers online content from key health sciences publishers in the areas of medicine, nursing, and allied health.
Description:
- Offers fully integrated and searchable medical, nursing, and allied health source book content from key health science publishers, on a web-based platform
- Content is available from publishers such as Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, The McGraw-Hill Companies, Delmar Cengage Learning, The American Academy of Pediatrics, and many more
- Customized saved searches, images, references, and bookmarks, A-Z Drug Index, and an A-Z Topic Index
- Content can be browsed by category, discipline, or title, and users can also perform searches across the entire platform, finding information on a topic in just two clicks
Producer
Rittenhouse Book Distributors
Stat!Ref (tds health)
Access restricted to CURRENT LLU&MC students/faculty/staff

Online textbooks, drug references, medical dictionaries, and medical reference sources.
Description:
- Quickly find answers about diagnosis and treatments
- Quickly find answers about drug interactions and use
- STAT!Ref is a clinical information resource that provides full text access to key medical reference sources and textbooks
  - ACP Pier
  - Nursing, Dentistry, Pharmacology, and Medical Specialty titles
  - Specialist textbooks
  - ACP Medicine (formerly Scientific American Medicine)
  - Drug references
  - Medical dictionaries
  - MedCalc 3000 (calculation tools and decision trees
Producer
Stat!Ref

Quick Links

Quick Guide to Clinician Resources

* only available on campus

(Does not connect with patient information)

DynaMed
Rapid, evidence-based clinical answers at the point of care.
Description:
- A clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use primarily at the 'point-of-care'
- Clinically-organized summaries for nearly 3,000 topics
- Updated daily and monitors the content of over 500 medical journals
Producer
Ebsco
Micromedex
A trusted resource for drug information, toxicology, and clinical decision support.
Description:
- Micromedex is the source of comprehensive and reputable drug information
- CareNotes provides your patients with complete, easy-to-understand information about all aspects of their care, medications, and health, in English or Spanish
- Micromedex is comprised of the following resources:
  - Comprehensive drug details - DRUGDEX®
  - Check for drug interactions - DRUG-REAX®
  - Identify loose tablets & capsules - IDENTIDEX®
  - Verify IV compatibility - IV INDEX®
  - International drugs - Index Nominum
  - Drug information from Royal Pharmaceutical Society - Martindale
  - Facts on FDA-approved drugs - PDR®
  - Identify and manage drug overdoses & toxicological exposures - POISINDEX®
  - Evaluate human reproductive risks of drugs - REPRORISK®
  - Labeled and off-label drug uses - USP DI®
  - Quick guidance for emergency care - DISEASEDEX Emergency Medicine
  - Look up best treatment practices - DISEASEDEX General Medicine
  - Evaluate hazard exposures - TOMES®
  - Visually pinpoint diseases - VisualDx®
  - Monitor drug and therapeutic levels for labs - Lab Advisor
  - Herbals, supplements, & alternative therapies - AltMedDex
  - Blend conventional and alternative medicines - AltMedDex Protocols
  - International guidance on herbals - Herbal Medicines from the Royal Pharmaceutical Press
Producer
Truven Health Analytics Inc.
PubMed@LLU
Premier database for biomedical literature, customized for local access.
Description:
- Contains references and abstracts from over 4,600 biomedical and health science journals from 1966 to the present
- Link directly to LLU-licensed journals or find print: PubMed Find Article Button
- Click to access PubMed tutorials
Producer:
National Library of Medicine