LibGuides: Loma Linda University Medical Center Murrieta: Home

Logo

Murrieta Digital Library

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
McGraw-Hill online e-resource of over 60 medical titles including Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine.
Description:
AccessMedicine® from McGraw-Hill is an innovative online resource that provides students, residents, clinicians, researchers, and all health professionals with access to more than 60 medical titles from the best minds in medicine, updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to view from and download content to a mobile device.

Updated frequently and expanded continuously by world-renowned physicians, AccessMedicine provides fast, direct access to the information necessary for completing evaluations, diagnoses, and case management decisions, as well as for pursuing research, medical education, or self-assessment and board review.

Clinical References and Medical Education Resources
The Clinical Library comprises respected and revered medical titles such as:
Producer
McGraw-Hill
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Murrieta users, please use this link to ClinicalKey.
Clinical search resource expanding MDConsult by providing access to full-text articles from over 500 journals, 1,000 medical books, 2,500 procedural videos, clinical trials, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts, images, and point-of-care content from First Consult and Vitals.
Description:
ClinicalKey includes the MDConsult database but also adds hundreds of additional eBooks, eJournals, guidelines, videos, images, First Consult, Procedure Consult, and more into one platform with expanded content:
- Books – over 1,025 of Elsevier’s medical and surgical reference books
- Journals – over 500 of Elsevier’s medical and surgical journals
- Procedures Consult – all Procedures Consult content and associated procedural videos in various specialties
- First Consult – over 800 Point-of-Care clinical monographs
- Drug Monographs – over 2,800 clinical pharmacology drug monographs from Gold Standard
- Patient Education – over 15,000 patient education handouts
- Clinical Trials – all clinical trials from the ClinicalTrials.gov database
- Practice Guidelines – over 4,000 practice guidelines
- MEDLINE – fully indexed MEDLIINE abstracts
- Multimedia – over 13,000 medical and surgical videos and over 5 million images
- Vitals (Beta): over 500 surgical monographs
Murrieta users, please use this link to ClinicalKey.
Producer:
Elsevier, Inc.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more.
Description:
- Explore evidence for and against effectiveness and appropriateness of treatments in specific circumstances
- Provides systematic literature reviews, focusing on evidence-based clinical decision making
- Provides access to seven databases of importance to the practice of evidence-based medicine
  - Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews)
  - Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
  - Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
  - Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews (Methodology Reviews)
  - Cochrane Methodology Register (Methodology Register)
  - Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
  - NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED)
Producer
Cochrane Collaboration
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
DynaMed™ is the next-generation clinical reference resource clinicians use to get answers to clinical questions quickly and easily. Content is written by a world-class team of physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis. Features include overviews and recommendations, graphics and images, precise search results every time, expert reviewers, specialty content and mobile access.
Description:
- A clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use primarily at the 'point-of-care'
- Clinically-organized summaries for nearly 3,000 topics
- Updated daily and monitors the content of over 500 medical journals
Producer
Ebsco
Isabel-Adult This link opens in a new window
Isabel is web based diagnosis decision support application. Signs and symptoms are entered and Isabel instantly returns a list of possible diagnoses. In addition, access to knowledge from textbooks, journals, external web resources as well as treatments and guidelines is provided for each diagnosis. Isabel-Adult integrates with DynaMed.
Description:
Isabel is an award-winning, web based diagnosis decision support application. Signs and symptoms are entered and Isabel instantly returns a list of possible diagnoses. In addition, access to knowledge from textbooks, journals, external web resources as well as treatments and guidelines is provided for each diagnosis.
- Helps with diagnostic hypothesis generation and narrowing the differential list
- Mobilizes knowledge by serving as a gateway to clinical reference resources
- Provides access to treatments and guidelines
When Should I Use Isabel?
- Cases with diagnostic dilemma
- Multiple symptoms not fitting one diagnosis
- When your patient is not responding to treatment
- Research potential pathologies based on the clinical feature you are observing
- Resident Reports
- When you need POC evidence-based guidelines and treatment options
- On patients who have been in hospital without diagnosis for 2 days or more
Producer
Isabel Healthcare
Isabel-Pediatrics This link opens in a new window
Isabel is web based diagnosis decision support application. Signs and symptoms are entered and Isabel instantly returns a list of possible diagnoses. In addition, access to knowledge from textbooks, journals, external web resources as well as treatments and guidelines is provided for each diagnosis. Isabel-Peds integrates with Best Practice.
Description:
Isabel is an award-winning, web based diagnosis decision support application. Signs and symptoms are entered and Isabel instantly returns a list of possible diagnoses. In addition, access to knowledge from textbooks, journals, external web resources as well as treatments and guidelines is provided for each diagnosis.
- Helps with diagnostic hypothesis generation and narrowing the differential list
- Mobilizes knowledge by serving as a gateway to clinical reference resources
- Provides access to treatments and guidelines
When Should I Use Isabel?
- Cases with diagnostic dilemma
- Multiple symptoms not fitting one diagnosis
- When your patient is not responding to treatment
- Research potential pathologies based on the clinical feature you are observing
- Resident Reports
- When you need POC evidence-based guidelines and treatment options
- On patients who have been in hospital without diagnosis for 2 days or more
Producer
Isabel Healthcare
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Full-text drug information databases; includes Martindale.
Description:
- Micromedex is the source of comprehensive and reputable drug information
- CareNotes provides your patients with complete, easy-to-understand information about all aspects of their care, medications, and health, in English or Spanish
- Micromedex is comprised of the following resources:
  - Comprehensive drug details - DRUGDEX®
  - Check for drug interactions - DRUG-REAX®
  - Identify loose tablets & capsules - IDENTIDEX®
  - Verify IV compatibility - IV INDEX®
  - International drugs - Index Nominum
  - Drug information from Royal Pharmaceutical Society - Martindale
  - Facts on FDA-approved drugs - PDR®
  - Identify and manage drug overdoses & toxicological exposures - POISINDEX®
  - Evaluate human reproductive risks of drugs - REPRORISK®
  - Labeled and off-label drug uses - USP DI®
  - Quick guidance for emergency care - DISEASEDEX Emergency Medicine
  - Look up best treatment practices - DISEASEDEX General Medicine
  - Evaluate hazard exposures - TOMES®
  - Visually pinpoint diseases - VisualDx®
  - Monitor drug and therapeutic levels for labs - Lab Advisor
  - Herbals, supplements, & alternative therapies - AltMedDex
  - Blend conventional and alternative medicines - AltMedDex Protocols
  - International guidance on herbals - Herbal Medicines from the Royal Pharmaceutical Press
Producer
Truven Health Analytics Inc.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
Formerly Natural Standard and Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database. Evidence-based information for complementary/alternative medicine
Description:
- Complementary and alternative therapies
- For each therapy covered, a research team systematically gathers scientific data and expert opinions
- Validated rating scales are used to evaluate the quality of available evidence
- Information is incorporated into comprehensive monographs that are designed to facilitate clinical decision making
- All monographs undergo blinded editorial and peer review prior to inclusion
- Databases include:
  - Food, Herbs & Supplements
  - Health & Wellness
  - Comparative Effectivenes
  - Medical Conditions
  - Genomics & Proteomics
  - Environmental Resources
  - Brand Names
  - Interactive Tools
Producer
Natural Standard
Ovid This link opens in a new window
Select the LLU Library's full-text journals & books available from Ovid as well as journal abstracts, tables of content and MedLine from the entire OVID database.
Description:
Guide to the Databases Available:

LLU Library's Full-Text Journals@OVID
          A subset of the larger Journals@OVID database that is limited to only the journals to which LLU subscribes, for when a user wants to see only the citations to which they have access. It provides all of the basic functionality of Journals@OVID, including 100% searchability, seamless integration with databases, and the ability to browse by journal and by subject.

LLU Library's Books@OVID
          Complete full text of over 100 books purchased by the LLU Library. Includes full text, references, updates, and graphics from some of the most respected sources in medicine, nursing, and pharmacology. A searcher can choose to run a search in one text, selected texts, or all texts. Color diagrams, charts, and other textbook illustrations are available as thumbnails or full-sized graphics. Within an individual book's interface, single-frame or multiple-frame environments contain the retrieved text. Buttons bars on the top and side of the screen facilitate navigation and provide links to the search page and Help. Search screens provide links to Home, Logoff, Help, and the main Ovid database screen. If the user is accessing a specific textbook, links are available to the text's table of contents and to the Search and Results screens, making it easier for searchers to jump from one book section to another.

Search Journal Abstracts & Tables of Contents
          This database is an aggregate of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies available on the OVID platform. Linking is available to the Library's full-text resources when available. This is a broader database then the LLU Library's Full-Text Journals@OVID, which is a subset of journals to which the Library subscribes.

Producer
OVID
Stat!Ref (tds health) This link opens in a new window
Online textbooks, drug references, medical dictionaries, and medical reference sources.
Description:
- Quickly find answers about diagnosis and treatments
- Quickly find answers about drug interactions and use
- STAT!Ref is a clinical information resource that provides full text access to key medical reference sources and textbooks
  - ACP Pier
  - Nursing, Dentistry, Pharmacology, and Medical Specialty titles
  - Specialist textbooks
  - ACP Medicine (formerly Scientific American Medicine)
  - Drug references
  - Medical dictionaries
  - MedCalc 3000 (calculation tools and decision trees
Producer
Stat!Ref

Wiley Online Library
Only journals & book content with an “open lock” icon are available.