LibGuides: San Manuel Gateway College: General Resources

Overview

A list of general library resources that are available to San Manuel Gateway College students. Some resources are freely available when off-site. Some are provided by the Loma Linda University Libraries and require a login when off-site.

General Databases & Online Resources

American Hospital Directory This link opens in a new window
Statistical data on U.S. hospitals.
Description:
- Provides statistical data on key measures of hospital performance for over 6,000 hospitals in the United States
- Data is compiled for Medicare claims, cost reports, public use files, and the AHA Annual Survey Data
- Allows searching by geographical regions, bed size, and services
- LLU Libraries is not a current subscriber to the American Hospital Directory; access is to the free hospital information and statistics
Producer
American Hospital Directory, Inc.
Books@Ovid This link opens in a new window
Browse electronic books available on the OVID platform and purchased by the LLU University Libraries
Description:
Over 140 eBooks have been purchased by the LLU University Libraries and made available via Books@OVID. More information from the publisher's website regarding Books@OVID:
- Get anytime, anywhere online access to your essential textbooks.
- Link seamlessly between chapters, topics and referenced websites, browse the table of contents.
- Multi-file searching-search subscribed books with Ovid databases and journals
- Links from book bibliographies-a single click from within Books@Ovid takes you to full text journals, bibliographic records, and external resources
- Natural language queries provide easier, more precise searches
- Single, expandable table of contents
- Browsable by subject as well as title
- View results ranked by relevance, not by book title
- Book topic links within the text can be created with Ovid Jumpstarts, for web-based syllabi and other online communication
- Fresh, intuitive interface
Producer
OVID
Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedia
Description:
- Includes Encyclopedia Britannica (73,000 articles)
- Britannica Concise Encyclopedia (28,000 short articles)
- Merriam-Webster's Dictionary & Thesaurus
Producer
Britannica Advanced Publishing, Inc.
Cancer.gov This link opens in a new window
Cancer information from the National Cancer Institute.
Description:
- Offers free, credible, current, comprehensive online information about cancer prevention, diagnosis, treatment, statistics, research, clinical trials, and news, as well as links to other NCI websites
- Main content areas include: cancer topics, clinical trials, cancer statistics, and research and funding
- Information in Spanish is also available
Producer:
National Cancer Institute, National Institutes of Health
Clinical Skills This link opens in a new window
[ Formally Mosby's Nursing Skills ]. Online skills and procedures reference system.
Description:
- Over 830 skills from leading reference works in nursing are available, including:
  - Perry & Potter, Clinical Nursing Skills & Techniques, 6e
  - Proehl, Emergency Nursing Procedures, 4e
  - AACN, Procedure Manual for Critical Care, 5e
  - AACN, Procedure Manual for Pediatric Acute and Critical Care
  - Wong's, Nursing Care of Infant's and Children
- Resource for review and testing of skills
- Interactive testing process that provides feedback and review to assist the learner in mastering concepts
Producer
Mosby & Saunders, Elsevier
FREIDA This link opens in a new window
Fellowship and residency information.
Description:
- Fellowship and Residency Electronic Interactive Database (FRIEDA)
- Provides information on approximately 8,200 graduate medical education programs accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) and 200 combined specialty programs
- Compare training environment of different specialties
- Searchable by specialty or location
- Career plans of graduates, as reported by their program directors
Producer
American Medical Association
Genetics Home Reference This link opens in a new window
Consumer information on genetic conditions by the National Library of Medicine.
Description:
- Provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variations on human health
- The genetics of more than 350 health conditions, diseases, and syndromes
- More than 550 genes, health effects of genetic differences, and gene families
- Links to other genetics information and organizations
Producer
National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search and access peer-reviewed journal articles and other scholarly materials.
Description:
- Find citations to journal articles, dissertations, books, abstracts, conference proceedings, and technical reports
- Links to free and LLU-licensed full-text articles
- For more information, visit Google Scholar's informative help page
Producer
Google
Consumer Product Information Database (formerly Household Products) This link opens in a new window
This Consumer Product Information Database (cpid) that currently links over 22,000 consumer brands to health effects has been designed to educate consumers about chemical ingredients of household products.
Description:
Disclosing chemical ingredients in products provides essential information throughout the supply chain from raw material supplier to consumers. Information about the ingredients of products and their health effects allow consumers to make better informed choices. The development of this database was initiated in 1994 by DeLima Associates of McLean, Virginia, USA in response to a need for a database (identified by the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention), that related household product types, brand names, chemical constituents, health-related information (acute and chronic effects and target organs), and exposure minimization techniques. This database is currently supported by the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS) of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), U.S. Public Health Service, Department of Health & Human Services.
Producer:
DeLima Associates
JoVE Science Education Database This link opens in a new window
The Del Webb Library subscribes to 4 collections in BASIC BIOLOGY: General laboratory techniques; Basic methods in cellular and molecular biology; Biology 1: yeast, Drosophila and C. elegans; Biology II: mouse, zebrafish, and chick; and to 1 collection in ADVANCED BIOLOGY: Neuroscience.
Description:
JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments, is the world's first peer reviewed scientific video journal. Established in 2006, JoVE is devoted to publishing scientific research in a visual format to help researchers overcome two of the biggest challenges facing the scientific research community today; poor reproducibility and the time and labor intensive nature of learning new experimental techniques.
- All JoVE articles are indexed in subject-relevant indexing sites, including PubMed/MEDLINE, SciFinder and Scopus
- Publishing in JoVE allows authors to dynamically present their methods, data analyses and results clearly, accurately, and professionally with the guidance of JoVE's professional videographers and editors
- JoVE has published thousands of video articles from top research institutions around the world.
The Del Webb Library subscribes to 4 collections in BASIC BIOLOGY
- General laboratory techniques
- Basic methods in cellular and molecular biology
- Biology 1: yeast, Drosophila and C. elegans
- Biology II: mouse, zebrafish, and chick
- ADVANCED BIOLOGY: Neuroscience
.Producer
JoVE
MEDLINEPlus This link opens in a new window
Consumer health information.
Description:
- MedlinePlus offers health consumers the most relevant and trusted health information on the web
- Content includes:
  - Health topics
  - Drugs and supplements
  - Medical encyclopedia
  - Dictionary
  - News
  - Directories of doctors, dentists, and hospitals
  - MedlinePlus also has a Spanish version
Producer
National Library of Medicine
OSHA This link opens in a new window
Occupational Safety and Health Administration Information from the U.S. Department of Labor.
Description:
- Current OSHA standards and compliance-related information
Producer
OSHA, U.S. Department of Labor
PubMed@LLU This link opens in a new window
Access to MEDLINE for LLUH users. Also includes the subject areas of nursing, dentistry, bioethics, complementary medicine and history of medicine.
Description:
- Contains references and abstracts from over 4,600 biomedical and health science journals from 1966 to the present
- Link directly to LLU-licensed journals or find print: PubMed Find Article Button
- Click to access PubMed tutorials
Producer:
National Library of Medicine
Stat!Ref (tds health) This link opens in a new window
Online textbooks, drug references, medical dictionaries, and medical reference sources.
Description:
- Quickly find answers about diagnosis and treatments
- Quickly find answers about drug interactions and use
- STAT!Ref is a clinical information resource that provides full text access to key medical reference sources and textbooks
  - ACP Pier
  - Nursing, Dentistry, Pharmacology, and Medical Specialty titles
  - Specialist textbooks
  - ACP Medicine (formerly Scientific American Medicine)
  - Drug references
  - Medical dictionaries
  - MedCalc 3000 (calculation tools and decision trees
Producer
Stat!Ref
PubChem This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive Toxicology Information
Description:
PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine by Jacqueline L. Longe
ISBN: 9781410317391
Publication Date: 2015-06-01