LibGuides: Evidence-Based Practice: Databases

Guide to Searching Evidence in Select Databases

Below are some of the resources that are helpful in finding evidence. For field/discipline specific resources, please take a look at our EBP guides for, C ounseling & Family Sciences, Nursing, Pharmacy, and Social Work.

PubMed@LLU
Premier database for biomedical literature, customized for local access.
Description:
- Contains references and abstracts from over 4,600 biomedical and health science journals from 1966 to the present
- Link directly to LLU-licensed journals or find print: PubMed Find Article Button
- Click to access PubMed tutorials
Producer:
National Library of Medicine
CINAHL Complete
Definitive source for nursing and allied health literature with broad coverage of population health, preventive medicine, and related administrative and policy topics.
Description:
- Provides full text for more than 750 journals
- Definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature
CINAHL Plus allows you to:
- directly export search results to EndNote
- save searches in a personalized folder
- create email alerts for a specific topic
Producer
Ebsco
Cochrane Library
The leading resource for systematic reviews and meta-analyses.
Description:
- Explore evidence for and against effectiveness and appropriateness of treatments in specific circumstances
- Provides systematic literature reviews, focusing on evidence-based clinical decision making
- Provides access to seven databases of importance to the practice of evidence-based medicine
  - Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews)
  - Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
  - Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
  - Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews (Methodology Reviews)
  - Cochrane Methodology Register (Methodology Register)
  - Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
  - NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED)
Producer
Cochrane Collaboration
JBI EBP Database
Evidence-based practice resources.
Description:
JBI’s content database contains a unique suite of information for evidence-based healthcare practice:
- Evidence Summaries - Literature reviews that summarize existing international literature on common healthcare interventions and activities
- Evidence Based Recommended Practices - Database of procedures, based on the best available evidence, that describe and/or recommend practice on various clinical topics
- Best Practice Information Sheets - Series of information guideline sheets produced specifically for practicing health professionals
- Systematic Reviews - Collection of comprehensive systematic reviews of international research literature completed by trained JBI reviewers
- Consumer Information Sheets - Standardized summaries, designed just for consumers of healthcare (patient/client, relatives, care providers)
- Plus, Systematic Review Protocols and Technical Reports
Ovid also offers JBI subject-area nodes complete with evidence-based information in the following fields:
- Aged Care
- Burns Care
- Cancer Care
- Chronic Disease
- Emergency & Trauma
- Mental Health
- Midwifery Care
- Pediatrics
- Rehabilitation
- Surgical Services
- Tropical & Infectious Disease
- And More
Access 10 easy-to-use tools to help on every step of evidence-based practice implementation (must set up personal account on OVID to use these tools):
- Point of care
  - JBI manual builder
  - JBI pamphlet builder
- Appraisal & Implementation
  - JBI Journal Club
  - JBI RAPid (critically appraise research papers using a standardized checklist)
  - JBI Sumari (develop, conduct, and report on systematic reviews of multiple research papers)
- Quality Improvement
  - JBI Paces (tool for conducing EB clinical audits
  - JBI Pool (used to collect and store patient related prevalence data)
  - JBI COOL (used to collect and store client related prevalence data)
- Research
  - JBI Tap (assists researchers to analyze small qualitative data sets)
  - JBI CAN-implement (guide to assist in adapting existing guidelines for local use)
Producer
Ovid
TripPro Database
Evidence-based clinical search engine.
Campbell Collaboration
Social intervention evidence systematic reviews.

Description
Campbell Systematic Reviews is the peer-reviewed online monograph series of systematic reviews prepared under the editorial control of the Campbell Collaboration. Campbell Systematic Reviews follow structured guidelines and standards for summarizing the international research evidence on the effects of interventions in crime and justice, education, international development, and social welfare.
Embase
Multipurpose/multidiscipline biomedical database.
Description:
With Embase, you can search and access:
- Journal coverage from 1947 to the present
- Over 32 million records, including MEDLINE titles
- Over 8,500 journals from over 95 countries, including MEDLINE titles
- Over 2,900 indexed journals unique to Embase
- Over 1.5 million records added yearly, with an average of over 6,000 each day
- Over 2.3 million conference abstracts indexed from more than 7,000 conferences dating from 2009
- Full-text indexing of drug, disease and medical device data
Producer:
Elsevier
Essential evidence plus & AHFS DI essentials
Concise evidence-based summaries and drug information.

Description:
Provide best-evidence answers to the most important clinical questions concerning symptoms, diseases, drugs, and other treatment regimens. Its concise, highly structured content is tightly integrated and hyperlinked to thousands of calculators, articles, Cochrane Systematic Reviews, and evidence summaries within EE+ to make searching for answers quick and seamless. Each topic has a "strength-of-evidence" rating for every recommendation, a "Bottom Line" summary that introduces each section, and a broad array of algorithms to aid in the decision-making process." - From publisher site.
Includes anatomy illustrations, decision support tools, Cochrane systematic reviews, POEMs research summaries, EBM guidelines, dermatology image library, and POEM of the Week podcasts.

Using the Databases Portal

Which database should I use?

The library provides over 100 databases. The database page arranges them in alphabetical order. You can rearrange the databases by clicking on the Subject dropdown below the alphabet navigation menu.

Choose a subject from the dropdown box and click APPLY:

Evaluate which database is appropriate for your search topic. Get more information on database content by clicking on the link, more info underneath each database name and brief description in the database list.

Database basics

Go to the databases when you have a topic and not a specific citation.

Search a database if you are looking for articles on a particular topic.

Browse the database list by:

Alphabetical list A-Z

Subject (for example: Medicine)

Arrange the list by subject instead of title. Use the dropdown box in the center to choose your desired subject.