LibGuides: Earth &amp; Biological Sciences Guide: Databases

Earth Sciences

GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Geoscience and mineralogy.
Description:
- Comprehensive geosciences database containing over 2.8 million bibliographic records to the geoscience literature of the world
- Over 3,500 journals are reviewed for indexing in the GeoRef database as well as books, maps, government reports, conference papers, and theses and dissertations
GeoRef allows you to:
- directly export search results to EndNote
- save searches in a personalized folder
- create email alerts for a specific topic
Producer
American Geological Institute, Ebsco
GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
Indexed, linked, and inter-operable with GeoRef, GeoScienceWorld (GSW) provides electronic access to the journals and archives of more than 41 top-tier digital journals from 27 pre-eminent global publishers.
Description:
A comprehensive internet resource for research and communications in the geosciences, built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and inter-operable with GeoRef.

In 2002, seven leading geoscience organizations discovered a need to create one platform for geoscientists worldwide to have access to the same research materials in the rapidly-changing pace of the geosciences industry. The only nonprofit collaborative of its kind in the earth sciences, GeoScienceWorld (GSW) was created as a single electronic journal (eJournal) aggregate which is a one-stop shop and digital archive for earth science researchers. GSW has provided electronic access to the journals and archives of more than 41 top-tier digital journals from 27 pre-eminent global publishers.

GeoScienceWorld Journals At-A-glance:
http://www.geoscienceworld.org/site/misc/journals_glance.xhtml

Producer
GeoScienceWorld

Biological Sciences

BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
High-impact bioscience research journals.
Description:
- BioOne.1 provides access to full text of articles from 2000 for over 60 bioscience journals published by scholarly societies
- BioOne.2 includes 41 titles from 26 publishers in the fields of organismal and integrative biology
- Product of innovative collaboration between scientific societies, libraries, academe, and the private sector
- A uniquely valuable aggregation of the full texts of high-impact bioscience research journals
Producer:
BioOne
BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
Examine life sciences and biomedical research from journals, meetings, patents, and books

Over 5,000 journals
Over 500,000 records added annually
BIOSIS Previews allow you to:
customize your search experience with a personal account
save and manage your references online with EndNote Web
create alerts and RSS feeds

Multidisciplinary

Academic Search Premier and all Ebsco databases This link opens in a new window
General academic database. Search all Ebsco databases at once.
Description
- Designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database containing:
  - 4,500 full text journals
  - 3,700 peer-reviewed titles.
  - 1,000 titles searchable cited references
  - 8,200 indexed journals
- Academic Search Premier allows you to:
  - directly export search results to EndNote
  - save searches in a personalized folder
  - create email alerts for a specific topic
Producer
Ebsco
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Human impact on the environment.
Description:
- Collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling
- Abstracts for more than 384,000 records
- Full text for more than 4,700 records
GreenFile allows you to:
- directly export search results to EndNote
- save searches in a personalized folder
- create email alerts for a specific topic
Producer
Ebsco
PubMed@LLU This link opens in a new window
Access to MEDLINE for LLUH users. Also includes the subject areas of nursing, dentistry, bioethics, complementary medicine and history of medicine.
Description:
- Contains references and abstracts from over 4,600 biomedical and health science journals from 1966 to the present
- Link directly to LLU-licensed journals or find print: PubMed Find Article Button
- Click to access PubMed tutorials
Producer:
National Library of Medicine
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full text access to selected science, technology and medicine journals & books.
Description:
- ScienceDirect is the premier electronic information service for the interdisciplinary research needs of academic, corporate, and educational institutions, offering comprehensive coverage of literature across all fields of science
- Access full text of selected Scientific Technical and Medical (STM) books and journals
- Covers 1995 to the present
Producer
Elsevier
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Science and social science citation indexes.
Description:
- Citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences
- Powerful tools include cited reference searching, Citation Maps, and the Analyze Tool
- Coverage for Science Citation Index: 1955-Present
- Coverage for Social Science Citation Index: 1956-Present
Web of Science allows you to:
- create a personal account
- save and manage your references online with EndNote Web (freely available and fully integrated)
- save and run searches
- create alerts and RSS feeds
- choose your start page
Producer:
Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), Thompson

Earth & Biological Sciences Guide

Library Hours

Earth Sciences

Biological Sciences

Multidisciplinary