Skip to main content

Social Work Research Guide: Journals

library resources specifically for social work students

If you have a specific citation; finding the full text

  1. Select the Journal tab from library homepage underneath the main navigation search.
  2. Enter the journal title, or abbreviation in the search box.
  3. From the results list, establish if we have the journal title in the correct year

    Is the article available in print (meaning, physically in the library)?  If the only link on the correct result says Del E. Webb Library, then it is available in the library in print only.

    3a.  Come to the library to photocopy it, or request the copy/pull (see service information at the very top of the pull link) service for a small fee through Interlibrary Loan.

    Is the article available full-text on-line?  If the link in the result indicates anything other than Del E. Webb Library, it is available on-line. 

3b.  Verify we have the correct year, then just click the link to go to the article.

  1. Each provider page looks different.  However the goal is the same; use the citation information to find your exact article and then click on the pdf icon.
  2. Look for a listing of years and look for your article first by year, then subsequently volume, issue, and page or title.  

Click on the pdf icon.

If a list of years is not apparent on the initial page, look for links to archives, or past issues and then look for your article first by year, then subsequently volume, issue, and page or title.

Click on the pdf icon. 

Finding full text from a database search

Does the library have the full-text of the article(s) you want?

  • Under each citation result is the purple LLU&MC Find Article button:   

  • Click the purple button to check that the library has it.

    • Full-text is available, when you will see instructions underneath your citation to click Article--see example below.  Often, the library has access in multiple ways.  In the Resource column of the example below, you see access from three different resources.

      1. Check that the library has the year you are looking for (center, Coverage Range column).
      2. If the only result in the Resource column says, "Del E. Webb Library," it is available in the library in print only. You can visit the library, or request the copy/pull (see service information at the very top of the pull link) service for a small fee through Interlibrary Loan.
      3. If the result(s) under the Resource column says anything other than Del E. Webb Library, then follow the instruction to click the Article link if it is available.  Look for full-text in html, or pdf.
      4. No Article link?  Follow the instruction to click the Journal link.  From the journal page, use the citation information to find your exact article to get full-text in html, or pdf.  Hints:  look for a list of years, or lnks to archives, or past issues and then look for your article first by year, then subsequently volume, issue, and page or title.
  • EXAMPLE

  • If the library does NOT have access to the article, you will see under the citation that the article does not appear to be available.

If you want to find articles (i.e., research a topic), search a database:

  1. Evaluate which database is appropriate for your search.  See the box below, for more help.

  2. Think about what you hope to find; ask yourself questions about your topic and make a list of keywords and synonyms from these questions.

  3. Construct a search strategy using these keywords.

  4. Conduct the search and look carefully at your results and then repeat search with a revised search strategy

  5. Assess whether LLU Libraries have the full-text of the article(s) you want.  See box on this page for help finding full-text.

 

Which database should I use?

The library provides over 100 databases.  The database page arranges them in alphabetical order.  You can rearrange the databases by clicking on the Subject dropdown below the alphabet navigation menu.  

  

Choose a subject from the dropdown box and click APPLY:  

Evaluate which database is appropriate for your search topic.  Get more information on database content by clicking on the link, more info underneath each database name and brief description in the database list.

Browse eJournals with BrowZine

Get the app, or use the web version.