Skip to main content

Psychiatry Residents' Resource Guide: Databases

This guide has been especially designed to provide information about library resources available to residents and faculty in the field of Psychiatry.

TIPS: searching ebsco

Add an asterisk (*) to the root of a word to find all forms of the word.

Example: parent* retrieves parent, parents, parenting, parental, etc

Boolean AND: social justice AND change (not: social justice change)

Boolean OR: social justice AND (ethnic* OR race OR nationality OR culture* OR religion)

Use the “Select a field” choice to do general keyword searches or specify a particular place for your search terms to appear (words in author, title, subject, journal title, etc.)

Core Databases

PUBMED : Access to MEDLINE for LLU users. Also includes the subject areas of nursing, dentistry, bioethics, complementary medicine and history of medicine.

  PSYCINFO 

  • Contains more than 2.5 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines
  • Includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others
  • Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,200 periodicals in more than 27 languages

  PSYCARTICLES 

  • Covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research
  • Contains more than 137,000 articles from 66 journals
  • Full text coverage of book chapters from 2000 to the present
  • Covers 1985 to the present

  PSYCBOOKS.

  • More than 24,000 chapters in PDF from over 1,500 books published by APA and other distinguished publishers
  • Also includes over 800 classic books of landmark historical impact in psychology dating from 1806
  • More than 1,500 authored entries from APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology

  PSYCEXTRA 

  • A bibliographic and full-text companion to the scholarly PsycINFO database
  • The document types included in PsycEXTRA consist of technical, annual and government reports, conference papers, newsletters, magazines, newspapers, and consumer brochures
  • Contains more than 120,000 records that are not indexed in any other APA database

 WEB OF SCIENCE 

  • Citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences
  • Powerful tools include cited reference searching, Citation Maps, and the Analyze Tool
  • Coverage for Science Citation Index: 1955-Present
  • Coverage for Social Science Citation Index: 1956-Present

SCIENCEDIRECT JOURNALS

  • ScienceDirect is the premier electronic information service for the interdisciplinary research needs of academic, corporate, and educational institutions, offering comprehensive coverage of literature across all fields of science
  • Access Scientific Technical and Medical (STM) journal titles and full-text articles
  • Covers 1995 to the present
 

ebook Sources

R2 LIBRARY

  • Offers fully integrated and searchable medical, nursing, and allied health source book content from key health science publishers, on a web-based platform
  • Customized saved searches, images, references, and bookmarks, A-Z Drug Index, and an A-Z Topic Index

STATREF

  • A clinical information resource that provides full text access to key medical reference sources and textbooks
  • Quickly find answers about diagnosis and treatments,and drug interactions and use