Skip to Main Content

EndNote & EndNote Online

Help using Endnote: A Bibliographic Software Program and EndNote Online: Your Web-Based Research and Writing Tool

Adding References Manually

If a reference cannot be imported into an EndNote library, then you can manually add it by following these instructions:

  1. On the EndNote toolbar, select References > New Reference, or Ctrl/Cmd + N, or New Reference button (clipboard with plus sign icon) 
  2. In the New Reference dialog box, choose the Reference Type from the drop-down menu.
  3. Enter the appropriate information in each of the fields (author, year, title, etc.) and select Save.

Author Names

Individual Author and Editor Names

Individual author/editor names must be entered one name per line using the following format

Last name, First name 

or 

First name Last Name

 

Tips for Author Names

As you type, EndNote suggests names similar to the one you are entering. This is EndNote’s way of using term lists to facilitate the process of entering new references. The name appears in red text to indicate that it is a new name in the Author term list for this library. When you close the reference, it will be added to the Author term list and the red text will change to black.

The first comma separates the last and first name. The second comma is inserted before suffix text, to make it clear that it is not part of the author’s name for manipulation of name order or stripping to initials. Suffix text will always print after the other information for this author.

 

Corporate Authors

Corporate author names must be entered with a following comma, so they will not be manipulated like personal author names.

Company/Organization name,

For example: University of California,, Berkeley

In this case, the corporate author name has a comma within the name. We inserted two commas to allow for correct formatting.

  1. The first comma makes it clear that text up to that point should not be manipulated, and
  2. The second comma indicates that there is no “first name,” yet includes suffix text.

 

Video from Clarivate on adding a reference:

File Attachment

You can attach just about any type of file to the File Attachments field of a reference. Scroll to the File Attachments field, and from the References menu, select File Attachments and then Attach File to display a file dialog. (You can attach a full text PDF file of that article over here). A paper clip icon appears next to the reference to indicate an attached file.

Similarly you can attach a figure by selecting Figure from the References menu and then Attach figure. Always enter a caption in the caption field for your image. It assists in locating images, and it labels figures in your Microsoft Word documents.

Microsoft Word recognizes many file types as figures. Some valid file types include these graphic files:

  • Windows Bitmap (BMP)
  • Graphics Interchange Format (GIF)
  • JPEG File Interchange Format (JPEG)
  • Portable Network Graphics (PNG)
  • Tag Image File Format (TIFF)

You can also insert object files, such as:

  • Audio files (WAV, MP3)
  • Microsoft Access files
  • Microsoft Excel files
  •  Microsoft Power Point files
  •  Microsoft Project files
  •  Microsoft Visio files
  •  Microsoft Word files
  •  Multimedia files (MOV, QuickTime)
  •  Technical drawing files
  • Text files (TXT, RTF, HTML)

Exporting References from PubMed

  1. Conduct a search in PubMed.
  2. Check the boxes next to articles for the citations you wish to download.  If you're conducting multiple searches, save items to your Clipboard, a temporary storage space in PubMed.  You can do this by selecting Clipboard from the Send to menu.  If you do this, a Clipboard icon and the number of items on the Clipboard will be displayed at the upper right of the page.  To view the items on your Clipboard, click on the items link next to the Clipboard icon.

    Once you are ready to export your results, click the Send to menu at the upper right corner of your results or Clipboard.  Select Citation manager.  Then, click the Create File button. 

Mac Users: When working with EndNote on a Mac, you must use Mozilla Firefox as your browser to enable Direct Export (automatic downloads) of references from electronic databases (PubMed, Web of Science, etc.) to your EndNote library.

Send to Citation Manager

3.  A dialog box will appear prompting you to either "Open" or "Save" the text file that you are creating.

4. Choose the Open with radio button and select EndNote from the drop-down menu. If you do not see EndNote on the drop down shortlist, select Other and choose EndNote from the options provided. Then, click OK.

Open with EndNote X6

Your citations will automatically appear in your EndNote library.  If you do not already have EndNote open, your computer will open your EndNote library.

Exporting References from EBSCO

Mac Users: When working with EndNote on a Mac, you must use Mozilla Firefox as your browser to enable Direct Export (automatic downloads) of references from electronic databases (PubMed, Web of Science, etc.) to your EndNote library.

1.Conduct a search in any EBSCOhost Database

2.Click on the title of the record that you wish to export to your EndNote library

3.If you want to import more than one reference, click Add to folder below each result you want to save.  When you do this a box with the title 'Folder has items' will appear in the right column.  To view items in your folder, click on the Folder view link in the folder box.  In Folder view you can select the citations that you would like to export to EndNote.

4.  Once you have chosen your references, click on the Export link, which will be in the column on the right of your screen, whether you are viewing an individual record or your folder.

5.Select the Direct Export in RIS Format radio button.

6.Click the Save button to begin the direct export.

Direct Export in RIS Format

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7. A dialog box will appear prompting you to either "Open" or "Save" the file that you are creating.

8.Choose the Open with radio button and select EndNote X7 from the drop-down menu. If you do not see EndNote on the drop down shortlist, select Other and choose EndNote from the options provided.  Then, click OK.

Exporting References from Web of Science

Mac Users: When working with EndNote on a Mac, you must use Mozilla Firefox as your browser to enable Direct Export (automatic downloads) of references from electronic databases (PubMed, Web of Science, etc.) to your EndNote library.

  1. Conduct a search in Web of Science.
  2. Check the boxes next to articles for the citations you wish to export to your EndNote library.
  3. Scroll to the Save to menu found at the top and bottom of your search results page. 
  4. Choose Save to EndNote desktop from the drop down menu.

Save to EndNote Desktop

5.The Send to EndNote dialog box will appear.

6.Select the record content that you wish to send to your EndNote library.

7. Click Send.  Your citations will automatically be exported to, and appear in, your EndNote library.  If you do not already  have EndNote open, your computer will open your EndNote library.

Exporting References from Google Scholar

Note: You cannot download multiple citations at one time in Google Scholar. If you anticipate downloading a large number of citations, try using the library's databases first.

  1. Go to Google Scholar.
  2. Click on the Settings icon in the upper right hand corner of the screen.
  3. Scroll down to the Bibliography manager section.  Select the Show links to import citations into radio button. Choose EndNote from the drop down menu.

Google Scholar Settings

4. Click Save. You will not need to perform this step on subsequent visits to Google Scholar.

5. Conduct a search in Google Scholar.  Click Import into EndNote link under the citation you wish to import to your EndNote   library.

Bibliography manager 6. A dialog box will appear prompting you to either "Open" or "Save" the file that you are creating.

Import into EndNote

7. Choose the Open with radio button and select EndNote X7 from the drop-down menu. If you do not see EndNote X7 on the drop down shortlist, select Other and choose EndNote X7 from the options provided.  Then, click OK.