Using Images from VisualDX
This is the "Home" page of the "Clinicians' Library User Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Clinicians' Library User Guide   Tags: clinical, clinicians, databases, ebhc, ebm, h1n1, health_care, jc, joint_commission, resources, swine_flu  

Guides Loma Linda University affiliated Clinicians through the optimal use of Library resources.
Last Updated: Dec 12, 2013 URL: http://libguides.llu.edu/CliniciansGuide Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Quick Links

DynaMed Help

  • DynaMed Best Practice Guide
    Guide (PDF, 2pgs.) to using DynaMed efficiently. It contains screenshots; three different ways to search for a topic; explanation of organization/levels of evidence; how to print and email; and more!
  • DynaMed Mobile Access
    Instructions for obtaining access to DynaMed on your mobile device.
  • DynaMed's Evidence-based Process
    Learn about the specifics of the DynaMed editorial process protocols.

What Do I Need to Access Library Resources?

  • LLU/MC ID Card
    - Check out books, journals, and laptops
    - Request books and articles online
    - Make photocopies and print from library computers
  • LLU.EDU Email Account
    - Login for username@llu.edu is used to:
    - Login to library computers
    - Connect to campus wireless
 

Connect from off campus

LLU students, faculty, and LLU/MC employees can easily connect to most electronic library resources from off-campus.

The Login screen (once you click on a database or the fulltext of a journal) gives you two choices:

LLUAHSC Login:

When logging into any library web services there is now a button which specifies affiliation.  Login with the email username and password which matches the affiliation you clicked.

Faculty and LLU/MC employees will need to register for the library.  Request a library account by filling out a Patron Registration Form and follow the directions on the top of the form to fax the completed form with a copy of your ID to (909) 558-4188.  For immediate processing, questions, or if you already have an account that does not seem to work, contact the circulation desk at (909) 558-4550.  (Mon-Thur: 7:30am-11pm, Fri: 7:30am-2pm, Sun: 10am-11pm).

Students having username/password difficulties may contact  the circulation desk at (909) 558-4550 or, the helpdesk at lluhelpdesk@llu.edu or 909.558.1000 (x48611).

 

The Libraries Login:

Enter:

  1. Your first and last name.

  2. Your barcode (on the bottom of your ID card)

  3. A PIN*

More about the PIN:

If you do not have a PIN, leave the PIN field blank when logging in. The system will walk you through creating a PIN. If you already have a PIN, but cannot remember it, please call the Del Webb Circulation desk @ 909.558.4550 (x44550).

 

Quality Point-of-Care Tools

The Library’s subscription to UpToDate ended on May 31, 2012.     Unfortunately, the cost to continue the subscription was prohibitively expensive for the University Library to maintain.

The Library, in conjunction with the Medical Center, provides other quality point-of-care tools,  which you can use instead.  Find these point-of-care tools on the VIP Intranet Clinical Desktop and on the LLU Libraries Databases page:

DynaMed is an evidence-based clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health-care professionals for use primarily at the point-of-care.  It contains clinically-organized summaries for over 3200 medical topics.  DynaMed is updated daily and monitors over 500 medical journals and systematic evidence review databases in order to integrate new evidence within existing content.

ClinicalKey, formerly MDConsult  but with expanded content including hundreds of additional eBooks, eJournals, guidelines, videos,images, First Consult, Procedures Consult, and more into one platform with a single-search interface.

Micromedex in addition to comprehensive and reliable drug information provides both in-depth and summary clinical monographs through DISEASEDEX Emergency Medicine (evidence-based acute information) and DISEASEDEX General Medicine (evidence-based diagnosis and treatment information).

These and more are available from on- and off-campus and via mobile devices.    Mobile Access instructions for these and other resources are available on the Library’s Mobile Access guide. 

 

Blog: LibNews

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Feedback

The first two questions pertain to this guide.  Feel free to enter any feedback you may have on these, or other point-of-care tools in the additional comments box.  

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip