Skip to main content

Pathologists' Assistant Information Resources: Databases

Resources available in the University Library for the Pathologists' Assistant Program

Database basics

Go to the databases when you have a topic and not a specific citation.  See the example at the bottom of this box.

Search a database if you are looking for articles on a particular topic. 

Browse the database list by:

  • Alphabetical list A-Z

OR

Arrange the list by subject instead of title.  Use the dropdown box in the center to choose your desired subject.

Topic vs. Specific citation

If you have a topic such as

 patient safety and medication error 

     choose a database and perform your search.

If you have a specific citation such as

Capasso V., Johnson M. (2012).  Improving the medicine administration process by reducing interruptions. Journal of Healthcare Management, 56(6), 384-90. 

      then you are probably looking to see if the library has access to the full text of the article.  See the box at the bottom right of this page.

 

Finding full text from a database search

Assess whether LLU Libraries have the full text of the article(s) you want.

  • Each database should have the purple LLU&MC Find Article button:   

  • Clicking the purple button opens a new window/tab and checks the citation against what the library has access to.

    • When access to the full text of an article is available, you will see instructions underneath your citation to click Article, like the example below.  Often, the library has access to an article in multiple ways.  In the example below, notice under the Resource column on the right, that there is access from three different resources.

      1. Check against the citation that the library has access to the year you are looking for (under the Coverage Range column in the center).
      2. If the only result underneath the Resource column on the right says, "Del E. Webb Library," then it is available in the library in print only. In that case, come to the library to photocopy it, or request the copy/pull (see service information at the very top of the pull link) service for a small fee through Interlibrary Loan.
      3. If the result(s) under the Resource column on the right says anything other than Del E. Webb Library, then follow the instruction to click the Article link if it is available.  You will either get the full text, or you merely need to look for and click on the pdf icon to obtain the full text.
      4. If there is no Article link, follow the instruction to click the Journal link.  You will be routed to a journal page.  Each provider page looks different.  However the goal is the same; use the citation information to find your exact article and then click on the pdf icon.  Look for a listing of years and look for your article first by year, then subsequently volume, issue, and page or title. 
      5. Click on the pdf icon.
      6. If a list of years is not apparent on the initial page, look for links to archives, or past issues and then look for your article first by year, then subsequently volume, issue, and page or titlle.
      7. Click on the pdf icon. 

  • If the library does NOT have access to the article, you will see under the citation that the article does not appear to be available.

Which database should I use?

The library provides over 100 databases.  The database page arranges them in alphabetical order.  You can rearrange the databases by clicking on the Subject dropdown below the alphabet navigation menu.  

  

Choose a subject from the dropdown box and click APPLY:  

Evaluate which database is appropriate for your search topic.  Get more information on database content by clicking on the link, more info underneath each database name and brief description in the database list.

If you have a specific citation; finding the full text

  1. Select Find Journals on the left-hand side navigation bar from the library homepage to get to the journal portal. 
  2. Enter the journal title, or abbreviation in the search box.
  3. From the results list, establish if we have the journal title in the correct year

    Is the article available in print (meaning, physically in the library)?  If the only link on the correct result says Del E. Webb Library, then it is available in the library in print only.

    3a.  Come to the library to photocopy it, or request the copy/pull (see service information at the very top of the pull link) service for a small fee through Interlibrary Loan.

    Is the article available full-text on-line?  If the link in the result indicates anything other than Del E. Webb Library, it is available on-line. 

3b.  Verify we have the correct year, then just click the link to go to the article.

  1. Each provider page looks different.  However the goal is the same; use the citation information to find your exact article and then click on the pdf icon.
  2. Look for a listing of years and look for your article first by year, then subsequently volume, issue, and page or title.  

Click on the pdf icon.

If a list of years is not apparent on the initial page, look for links to archives, or past issues and then look for your article first by year, then subsequently volume, issue, and page or title.

Click on the pdf icon.