Skip to main content

Psychiatry Residents' Resource Guide: Databases Searching Tutorials and Techniques

This guide has been especially designed to provide information about library resources available to residents and faculty in the field of Psychiatry.

Tutorials

DynaMed Basic Searching

Database Search Tips: Part 1 Part of the MIT Libraries video tutorial series. This video explains the difference between a keyword search in an article database and doing a search in a search engine like Google.

Database Search Tips: Part 2 This video explains how to use boolean operators (and, or) when searching in an article database.

Database Search Tips: Part 3  This video explains how to use truncation to search for various word endings in an article database.

Database Search Tips: Part 4 This video explores the difference between keyword and subject searching. Tips include using the database thesaurus to select terms for your search and browsing the subject or descriptor field when reviewing a citation.

Database Search Tips: Part 5 This video explains how to limit a search in an article database by searching only in specific fields, like the article title or author. It also demonstrates narrowing a search by using limits like a publication date range or publication type.

Clinical Pharmacology Tutorial The tutorial will provide you with a full overview and orientation to Clinical Pharmacology.

Useful Websites

Subject Guide

Gurmeet Sehgal's picture
Gurmeet Sehgal
Contact:
Del E. Webb Memorial Library
Loma Linda University
11072 Anderson Street
Loma Linda, California 92350
909 558 4300, ext. 47561