Skip to main content

Information for Faculty: Databases

library services, copyright, searching library resources

PubMed

  • PubMed Includes 14 million citations for biomedical articles dating back to the 1950s.
  • Use the PubMed@LLU link on the Library home page to access PubMed.  To see if LLU has a specific article, go to the “abstract” display and click on the link to our Journal Portal to see if the article is available from LLU:
  • Go to our guide on finding articles in PubMed for in depth help on looking for articles in PubMed.                

The Ebscohost databases

  • Academic Search Premier: A multidisciplinary database for social sciences, humanities, education, general science and multi-cultural journals.  Provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.    
  • Global Health:  Covers all aspects of public health at the international and community level; also includes Nutrition Abstracts.
  • Also useful:  Agricola, Cinahl, GeoRef, GreenFILE, Atla Religion, Health Source Nursing & Consumer Health, Alt-Health Watch, PsycEXTRA, PsycInfo, PsycArticles, SocIndex

Other useful databases

Web of Science: Search Science Citation Index & Social Science Citation Index from 1955-Present; Cited Reference Searching: find articles that cite a previously published work

HAPI : Health and Psychosocial Instruments: Provides records for finding questionnaires, checklists, interview forms, scenarios/vignettes, index measures, projective techniques, rating scales, and tests.

Ageline : Social gerontology and aging-related articles, books, and reports

HRAF (Collection of Ethnography): Primary source materials on cultures or societies worldwide

Popline : Family planning and population

Population Index : Demography, population size and growth, projections and predictions

GoogleScholar:  Set your Scholar Preferences to “Find FullText @ LLU&MC”

Complete list of databases

Browse the database list by alphabetical list A-Z or subject

Search a database if you are looking for a group of articles on a particular topic.  In many case, the fulltext of the article is available. Browse the database list by title (A-Z) or by subject (Academic Search Premier to Web of Science)

Click on the link to our Journal Portal to see if the article is available from LLU: