Skip to main content

EndNote and EndNote Web: Edit and Manage Citations

Endnote:A Bibliographic Software Program; EndNote Web :Your Web-Based Research and Writing Tool

Edit & Manage Citations in Windows

If you try to edit citations in a document by simply typing the page numbers into a citation or removing an author’s name from a citation, the change will only be temporary and will disappear with the next update of the bibliography. Worse than that, you risk corrupting the citation codes, which would prevent EndNote from updating them and could cause other problems in your document. The safe way to make changes to the citations is using the Edit & Manage Citations command. Click on the citation you want to change, then click the Edit & Manage Citations button.

In the Edit & Manage Citations window there are two tabs in the lower part of the window. The first tab, Edit Citation (shown below), contains fields where you can add prefix or suffix text to a citation, as well as page numbers for those styles that require them. There is also a drop-down Formatting list that provides options to put the author’s name outside of the parentheses, exclude an author’s name, exclude the year, or show the reference only in the bibliography. (Note: If you are using a style where page numbers entered in the Pages field do not show, enter page numbers in the Suffix field, which will always show.)

The second tab, Reference, shows the details for the selected (highlighted) reference in the top half of the window.

Along with being able to add text to citations, you can also use the Edit Reference drop-down list for each reference to add new citations to the grouped citation with the Insert Citation command,or safely remove citations from a grouped citation with the Remove Citations command. This is the safest way to remove citations from a document because it safely removes all of the hidden coding. If the coding is not completely removed, it can result in a corrupted citation.

Edit & Manage Citations in Mac

Editing Citations in the Document
If you try to edit citations in a document by simply typing the page numbers into a citation or removing an author’s name from a citation, the change will only be temporary and will disappear with the next update of the bibliography. Worse than that, you risk corrupting the citation codes, which would prevent EndNote from updating them and could cause other problems in your document. The safest way to make changes to the citations is using the Edit & Manage Citations command.
Click on the citation you want to change, then click the Edit & Manage Citations button

In the Edit & Manage Citations window there are two tabs in the lower part of the window. The first tab, Edit Citation (shown below), contains fields where you can add prefix or suffix text to a citation, as well as page numbers for those styles that require them. There is also a drop-down Format list that provides options to put the author’s name outside of the parentheses, exclude an author’s name, exclude the year, or show the reference only in the bibliography. (Note: If you are using a style where page numbers entered in the Pages field do not show, enter page numbers in the Suffix field, which will always show.)

The second tab, Reference, shows the details for the selected (highlighted) reference in the top half of the window.

Along with being able to add text, remove the author name, or remove the year, you can also use the drop-down list for each reference to add new citations to a grouped citation with the Insert Citation command, or safely remove citations from a grouped citation with the Remove Citations command. This is the safest way to remove citations from a document because it safely removes all of the hidden coding. If the coding is not completely removed, it can result in a corrupted citation.