Skip to main content

EndNote and EndNote Web: Navigating EndNote

Endnote:A Bibliographic Software Program; EndNote Web :Your Web-Based Research and Writing Tool

EndNote X8 Cheat Sheet for LLU EndNote users

The pdf linked has screenshots illustrating the following:

  • Setting "Preferences" to Find Full Text from within your EndNote Library (Windows & Mac)
  • Bringing in citations from PubMed & from CINAHL (EBSCOhost)
  • Tips for working with different browsers
  • Google Scholar tips
  • Creating Groups in EndNote
  • Attaching pdfs automatically to citation records in EndNote
  • Attaching pdfs to citation records manually
  • Cite While You Write (CWYW)
  • Changing Styles

Navigating EndNote

ENDNOTE FEATURES & COMMANDS, WHAT DO THEY REALLY DO This link will provide you with descriptions of major layout and menu-item commands available in EndNote
HOW TO USE THE BUTTONS ON YOUR ENDNOTE TOOLBAR

The buttons on the EndNote toolbar provide you with quick control of your library. From adding references, to creating groups, finding full text and much more.

  • Local Library iconLocal Library Mode
    This is the default mode. View and access all your saved references and groups or use tools like quick search to search only your existing EndNote library.
  • online search mode iconOnline Search Mode
    This lets you search online databases, right from within EndNote. References are downloaded into a temporary library so you can pick and choose which ones you want to save to your EndNote library.
  • Integrated library mode iconIntegrated Library & Online Search Mode
    This gives you access to all the groups and commands available in both Local Library mode and Online Search mode. When downloading references from an online database, EndNote will save them to the Online Search group set as well as your local library.
  • Bibliography output style menuBibliographic Output Styles menu
    Easily access the styles you use most through a dropdown right on your toolbar.
  • Copy to Local Library iconCopy to Local Library
    After searching online, select which references you want to move to your EndNote library and copy them to your local library, leaving behind the ones you don’t need.
  • New Reference iconNew Reference
    Quickly enter a new reference.
  • Online Search iconOnline Search
    Select the database you want to search. Hint: This will automatically switch you to Online Search Mode.
  • Import iconImport
    Import references you have saved to your computer.
  • Export iconExport
    Export your library.
  • Find Full Text iconFind Full Text
    Select a reference or group of references, and use this feature to search your subscriptions and full-text freely available online for the article(s). Any available PDFs will be automatically attached to the reference.
  • Open link iconOpen Link
    Without opening the reference, you can quickly open the links attached to it.
  • Open file iconOpen File
    Without opening the reference, you can quickly open the attachments.
  • Inser Citation iconFormat Bibliography iconReturn to Wod Processor iconInsert Citation, Format Bibliography, and Return to Word Processor
    When Microsoft Word or OpenOffice.org Writer is open these commands let you toggle back and forth easily between your word processor and EndNote.
  • Sync iconSync
    You can set your library to automatically sync, or use this button to sync when you choose. Then access your library across multiple desktops where EndNote is installed, online and even on your iPad.
  • Quick Search barQuick Search Text Box
    There are lots of ways to search your library. Quick search is good for simple searches of your references, groups, PDF notes and annotations. For more complex searches, use our Advanced Search.

System Requirements

EndNote Libraries are compatible across Macintosh and Windows platforms.

Internet connection required to register for EndNote Web, search online databases, find full text and auto-update references.

Windows Requirements (X7)

  • Windows XP SP3, Vista® (32-bit/64-bit), Windows 7 (32-bit/64-bit), Windows 8.x (32-bit/64-bit) or Windows 10
  • Pentium 450-megahertz (MHz) or faster processor
  • 180 MB hard disk space available
  • 256 MB RAM
  • CD-ROM drive required for installation of shipped version (not required for installation of download version)
  • To use MSI installation, you need the latest Windows Updates installer

Mac Requirements (X7)

  • ‚ÄčMac OS X 10.6.x and later
  • Intel-based Macintosh
  • Hard disk with 400 MB available
  • Minimum 256 MB of available RAM
  • CD-ROM drive required for installation of shipped version (not required for installation of download version)