Skip to main content
Banner Image

EndNote and EndNote Web: Getting Started

Endnote:A Bibliographic Software Program; EndNote Web :Your Web-Based Research and Writing Tool

What can EndNote do for you?

With EndNote, you can:

  • Integrate searching, writing, and bibliography creation into one streamlined process that results in submission — ready manuscripts.
  • Search online databases and library catalogs within EndNote® to create a personal library instantly.
  • Import references from online databases — eliminating typing.
  • Organize references and related files such as PDFs and graphics in any language.
  • Create bibliographies, table and figure lists instantly in over 2,800 publishing styles.
  • Simplify collaboration with colleagues.  With version X7.2 and later, multiple users (up to 14 people, plus yourself) can enter the same library and edit records at the same time.

Downloading the EndNote Software

 Instructions for downloading Endnote for Loma Linda University faculty, students and Loma Linda University Health Care clinicians and employees.

  • Login with your username and password.  If you are not able to login, call the University HelpDesk at x48611.
  • Scroll to the bottom of the page.  Under Popular Links choose Downloads.
  • Download EndNote.
  • To search the Loma Linda University Libraries' catalog copy the "Loma Linda University" Endnote Connection file from the extraction folder to the C:Program Files EndNote Connections folder

For problems downloading EndNote OR Cite-While-You-Write plug-in for Microsoft Word, please call the Circulation Desk at x44550.

Creating an EndNote Web Account

Go to myendnoteweb

  • On the EndNote Web Logon page , click on Sign Up link to create an account.
  • Fill in each field with an asterisk. These are required fields.
  • Note that the password you create must be at least 8 characters long and must contain at least one number and one symbol (password is case sensitive).

You can also go to Endnote Web through Loma Linda University webpage. Click on "Databases" on the left purple column.

It will take you to an alphabetical list of the Databases. Click on the letter "W" and then on the database, " Web of Science".

This will take you to ISI Web of Knowledge website.

You can logon to EndNote Web by clicking on My EndNote Web at the top of the page.

 

Technical Issues

Downloading Issues: The Endnote software does not download from MyLLU account and displays an error message. This may occur if the program is downloaded wirelessly. If you encounter this problem, please contact us at x 44588 or bring in your laptop and we will help you put the program on your laptop.

Running the program asks for a product key:  This occurs on PCs when after downloading the EndNote file, patrons double click on the folder which looks like the EndNote program.  This is an error as they first need to extract/unzip the files. The solution is to uninstall, reinstall and extract/unzip the files.

The EndNote toolbar does not show up in Word after downloading:  The solution to this one is to uninstall EndNote and then to reinstall it again.

Not common but has occured recently: Word 2008 on Macs need Service Pack 1 (an office update) for the toolbar to show up.

    

Subject Guide

Gurmeet Sehgal
Contact:
Del E. Webb Memorial Library
Loma Linda University
11072 Anderson Street
Loma Linda, California 92350
909 558 4300, ext. 47561

Some of the Issues with Endnote