Skip to main content

Citing Electronic Documents: APA

How to cite electronic documents in APA, MLA, and Chicago styles, and links to further information on these style formats.

APA Citation Manual @LLU

APA guides at the library

 

Publication Manual of the Psychological Association  
Call Number: BF 76.7 A46 2001
5th edition
Location: Reserve Desk

The world's easiest guide to using the APA - Carol J. Amato  
Call Number: BF 76.7 A62 1995
1995
Location: Reserve Desk

Mastering APA style : instructor's resource guide 
Call Number: BF 76.7 G44 2002
5th edition
Location: Reserve Desk

For more information visit: http://www.apastyle.org/learn/faqs/index.aspx

Online Journal Article

  • Guidelines for online journal articles generally follow guidelines for print articles with the addition of the article URL.
  • Since URLs to online materials can change, the APA recommends providing a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) over a URL, when it is available.
  • The retrieval date is only necessary if the information is likely to be updated or changed in the future. Include as much information as provided by the publisher.

Author, A. A. (Year published or "n.d." if no date is present). Title of article. Title of

Periodical, volume number, (issue number if available), page number. Retrieved

month, day, year (if necessary) from http://www.completeaddress/url/ 

Sumner, J., & Ross, T. (2002, July 25). A semi-quantitative seafood safety risk

assessment. International Journal of Food Microbiology, 77(1/2), 55. Retrieved

September 18, 2008, from Academic Search Premier database,

http://0-search.ebscohost.com.catalog.llu.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db

=aph&AN=7800302&site=ehost-live

 

Online Periodical with DOI Assigned

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of article. Title of

Journal, volume number, page range. doi:0000000/000000000000

 

Website Material with no author, year, or pages numbers

Include title, or a shortened title and "n.d." to indicated no date.

 

Title, or shortened title. (n.d.). In Name of the website.  Retrieved month,

day, year (if necessary) from http://www.completeadress/url/

 

Jam and bread. (n.d.). In A recipe a day.  Retrieved January 4, 2009 from

http://www.arecipeaday.blogspot.com

 

e-Book Tools

Many of the e-Book collections have tools which can facilitate in generating and exporting citations. For detailed information, please consult the HELP section of each specific resource.

Stat!Ref

  1. Citations for use in research papers can be generated by using the "Bibliographic Citations" feature at the bottom of every document. To access this feature, first scroll to the bottom of the document. Next, click on "Show / Hide Bibliography" to expand the bibliography. Finally, hover your mouse over the "Bibliographic Citations" link and the Bibliographic Citations panel will appear. YOu may also click on the "Bibliography" link in the upper right corner of the document.
  2. Hover mouse over “Bibliographic Citations” and from this screen you can export citation information for this title into bibliographic software like EndNote or highlight & copy the plain text citation.

R2 Library Collection

Use “export bibliographic citation” tool

APA Style Blog

The APA Style Blog is the official companion to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Sixth Edition.

Loading

More Citation Help